hulika

Author Topic: MODS: please bomb this silly topic that was resurrected from the dead...  (Read 24116 times)

Offline psychic_sushi

• Philmusicus Addictus
I can't help but cringe when i think about this "newbie" post... I look back wistfully, and hope that this freaking thing gets locked before it causes a riot...
« Last Edit: May 27, 2008, 10:23:44 PM by psychic_sushi »
"The world needs more great guitarists, not more lumber critics."

Ron Kirn

Offline greasykid

• Philmusicus Addictus
Tone: Is it in the fingers or the gear?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 02:31:45 AM »
Naku! Mukhang mahabang diskusyon na naman ito.  Oas, you here?  Guys?

Let's get it on!  

Unless pagod na kayo sa topic na ito...  Hehehehe.

Offline greasykid

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2006, 02:35:02 AM »
Anyway, I have been playing for around 14 years na.  Consistent ang tunog ko kahit anong gamit.  My playing basically sucks kaya walang kwenta kahit ano pa ang gamitin ko.  Hehehehe...   :wink:

Offline markflo

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2006, 02:40:10 AM »
i'd say it's in both...but more on the fingers...

for me, tone has so many factors that it's hard to say that it's ALL in the fingers or it's ALL in the gear...

you can buy hendrix's exact entire rig and not sound even remotely close to his sound.

why?

because of the nuances he applies to his instrument, you can't buy that.

you can, however, learn it...

gear, although not AS important, when it comes to your tone, ALSO plays a BIG factor in it

if you've got really crappy gear...it won't allow you to play your best...broken speakers, old tubes, high action in the guitar, rusty strings, ugly wood that doesn't resonate well...these CAN be uninspiring

on the other hand, you don't need to have the ABSOLUTE top of the line 10 thousand features gear either