hulika

Author Topic: what's the deal with tube pedals?  (Read 5533 times)

Offline foolintherain

what's the deal with tube pedals?
« on: April 22, 2007, 10:28:12 PM »
what is the deal? i know and heard of transisor pedals that replicate tube driven od/distortion ad act similar to preamps. even the tone can be similar with the right tweaking but do tube pedals really make a difference? will the other pedals on the fx board react any differently when driven by a tube preamp? why not just use a tube amp on top of everything? sorry for my ignorance, i have no real experience with any tube pedals like the vtwin, tube driver... etc. so i really wouldn't know since these pedals cost a heck of a lot of money (16k?!) :-o sayang din naman pag pinag-ipunan tapos di din grabe yung difference ng hinahanap mo :lol: i've seen some pics of people using tube pedals in some threads, does anyone have any insight on their experience with these?

Offline fraudulentzodiac

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: what's the deal with tube pedals?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2007, 10:34:00 PM »
siguro pareho din ng difference between a tube amp and a solidstate...siguro lang.

My multiFX has a tube and solidstate pre-amp section (it's a Zoom G7 actually) and the difference I immediately noticed was I can cut through the mix easily and I felt the warmth hehe compared to what I have used before, a 707II na walang tubo.

Offline foolintherain

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2007, 10:48:45 PM »
sir, did the modulation sound much better with the tube preamp? what kind of tube preamp do you use?

Offline fraudulentzodiac

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2007, 11:08:19 PM »
sir it's a multifx so lahat sila nasa iisang katawan lang hehe. It's a Zoom G7.1ut. I can say that the modulations sounded better compared to the 707II but I can't attribute that to the tubes, or should I say tube since isa lang naman yung tube dun sa system. Check niyo sa website ng zoom kung ano ba meron sa G7.