hulika

Author Topic: usapang POWER AMPS  (Read 2131 times)

Offline jm the mute

• Philmusicus Addictus
usapang POWER AMPS
« on: December 04, 2014, 11:59:20 AM »
i'm a noob when it comes to rack/pre-amp/power-amp setups...and I have a few questions (I tried gearpage...wala akong ma-gets...mashadong 1st world ang pagka-advance nila hehe)
1.) are there specific power amps for guitar amplification purposes?
2.) can all power amps be used with modellers like axe fx/ eleven rack..etc. etc.)
3.) can all power amps be used with any guitar speaker cabs?
4.) tubes or solidstate?

"there is a fine line between art and mukhang T-A-N-G-A"

https://soundcloud.com/jm-the-mute

Offline royc

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: usapang POWER AMPS
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2014, 01:17:42 PM »

Yes. Stereo power amps do not color or change the sound from the source and the guitar will sound sterile. Guitar amps are designed to color the sound from the guitar.

2.) can all power amps be used with modellers like axe fx/ eleven rack..etc. etc.)

Non-guitar power amps can and should be used with modellers that has speaker emulation.

It has to match in terms of power and impedance. 

4.) tubes or solidstate?

Debate is similar to guitar tube amp vs solid state amps

Offline jm the mute

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2014, 05:19:37 PM »

Yes. Stereo power amps do not color or change the sound from the source and the guitar will sound sterile. Guitar amps are designed to color the sound from the guitar.

Non-guitar power amps can and should be used with modellers that has speaker emulation.

It has to match in terms of power and impedance. 

4.) tubes or solidstate?

Debate is similar to guitar tube amp vs solid state amps

nice. thanks. nakikita ko kasi ung mga naka-display na power amps sa audiophile, akala ko lahat yun pwede pang power amp sa guitar pre-amp.

"there is a fine line between art and mukhang T-A-N-G-A"

https://soundcloud.com/jm-the-mute

Offline guitaricci