hulika

Author Topic: Super portable acoustic kit?  (Read 9986 times)

Offline kean

• Philmusicus Noobitus
Super portable acoustic kit?
« on: August 29, 2014, 04:29:22 PM »
Hello!

I'm looking for a very tiny and portable kit, and if anyone could help me out that would be great! I recently saw Ciudad live, and their drummer used this really compact kit that consisted of a small kick drum, a hi hat, and a snare which was mounted on hi hat stand. I'm just starting out so this might be basic knowledge for you drummers here. Hahaha.

Take a look at the drums in this video

It kind of looks like that. I was wondering what were my options if I were to add toms in the future. I'm setting it up in a small space in my home lang, so the small size and relatively lower volume (maybe?) is essential.

I hope someone can point me to the right direction as to where to find these or what I need for my situation. Thanks for reading!

Offline sonicassault

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: Super portable acoustic kit?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 04:39:27 PM »
I can't open the clip, YouTube banned at work  :lol:

If I were you though, I'd get me a Pearl Target Jr.
Cheap (ish) kit, really small (10,12,14 toms, 13 snare, 18 kick), incredible sound.
You can take away the other drums for a compact setup, then put them back when you need/want them. (or sell them here  :lol: )
The thing about this kit is that it still sounds like a full kit (fusion/jungle actually), unlike cocktail kits which have a distinct one-trick-pony sound, or those stuff with really shallow drums like the Rhythm Traveler or GoKit which will disappoint in the long run. You can get a lot of sounds with this one: Manu Katche hanggang metal pwede.  :)

https://soundcloud.com/sonicassault
Turn up the sympathsizer and give me more waffle.
olive oil garlic tomatoes salt pepper basil oregano thyme chili

Offline peeves24

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2014, 04:44:44 PM »
traps a400 - 25k yata sa lyric