hulika

Author Topic: Converting an Amplifier from 110v to 220v  (Read 2995 times)

Offline mawts_gwaps

Converting an Amplifier from 110v to 220v
« on: April 09, 2013, 12:25:55 AM »
Hi guys, I recently acquired a Fender Blues Jr III (US 110v). So yeah, as the title goes, I want to convert this from a 110v to a 220v amplifier.

So far I've been reading this thread (http://www.tdpri.com/forum/amp-central-station/327130-converting-amp-110v-220v-where-start.html), and basically understood that it's not a good idea to use a step down transformer (my original plan was to place an external transformer inside the amp)

Basically, my concers are:
1) Did I understand the thread correctly? (sorry electronics noob here)
2) Can this permanent "conversion" be done DIY? with a lot of help from engineering graduate buddies of course!
3) If not, should I let mang Raul do this? or pwede na sa local appliance repair centers?

Would very much appreciate your comments and insights!

Thanks a lot!  :)
« Last Edit: April 09, 2013, 01:57:07 AM by mawts_gwaps »
"OUIDO", hindi "WIDOW"

Offline fretzburner

• Forum Fanatic
Re: Converting an Amplifier from 110v to 220v
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2013, 06:48:24 AM »
If you can find an original drop-in power transformer from the manufacturer that's the best route.re-winding from 110v to 220v is not a good idea,better use step-down transformer and still preserve your amp's value.
"It's not just the game of notes,it's the sound inside your soul"

Offline paul_sigua

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2013, 02:02:46 PM »
I have a 110v Blues Junior too. I use a step down transformer and had no problems whatsoever. I stick it inside the amp when I carry it, then I place it outside the amp when I plug it. No hum, buzz or any kind of noise.  :)

Offline skunkyfunk

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2013, 02:07:54 PM »