hulika

Author Topic: behringer ub802  (Read 3005 times)

Offline aperture

• Netizen Level
behringer ub802
« on: November 23, 2005, 12:12:33 AM »
im very new to this..  
I bought this last saturday.. electronics depot was having a sale..
from 4.7k then less 15% and got it for 3.9k..
i have some questions about this mixer.. are there really audible
hiss with this mixer? because i believe i can hear one while using
shure 16a condenser mic..  
have i made the right choice in buying this mixer? i could have gone
buying the samson mdr624 or the peavey pv8 instead..
how do i really confirm that this mixer really does produces a hiss...

or have i got a lemon UB802? :(

Offline af_villaruel

• Forum Fanatic
behringer ub802
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2005, 12:33:42 AM »
if u bought it at electronics depot, i doubt that its a dud. best thing is you take it back there together with your mic and retest.  8)

Offline julianesmiles

• Philmusicus Noobitus
behringer ub802
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2005, 11:22:26 AM »
hey where is this electronics depot?
freedom is just within you...........

Offline KitC

• Prime Moderator
behringer ub802
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2005, 03:20:31 PM »
Your Shure 16A is a cardioid small diaphragm electret condenser that requires a 1.5V AA battery in order to function. The battery is used to keep the condenser backplate charged and as such, I don't think it requires phantom power in order to operate. According to Shure, the mic is a high output design and you should be have a substantial signal to noise ratio. Try checking and replacing the battery isn't on it's last legs already.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline starfugger

• Philmusicus Addictus
behringer ub802
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2005, 07:37:43 AM »