hulika

Author Topic: how Set up a takamine acoustic guitar  (Read 9569 times)

Offline eds1122

how Set up a takamine acoustic guitar
« on: September 19, 2012, 10:02:59 AM »
Im a newbie here! Acoustic guitar player in our church for 3 yrs and counting na po

I bought a Takamine EG440C STRQ this month from another fellow musician. the plugged in sound is wonderful but the action is a bit high and the strings are hard to press.
what is the best set up i can i do with this guitar?
what will changing the nut and saddle to bone do?
do i need to install a pick guard ?
any suggestions po mga sir?

http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=230974
I'm a simple Christian guy who loves to sing and make music. A guy who's appreciative with beautiful and amazing things. A guy who has the heart to learn more about the matter of life..

Offline starkiller

Re: how Set up a takamine acoustic guitar
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2012, 10:32:13 PM »
so your main concern is lowering the action

1. start by removing the the shims that are below the pickup.  remove the saddle and pickup, and take-off the plastic shims below the pickup.
2. if the action is still too high for you, the next step is to file the UPPER part of the saddle.  Yes, I said UPPER part; do not file the bottom part..  Trimming the saddle of a G-series Takamine is challenging because it has a unity under-saddle pickup. unlike conventional under-saddle pickups, you cannot file the bottom of a unity pickup to lower the action.  if you do, the contact points will be ruined, and the pickup and tuner will not function.

what i actually did for mine is to completely replace the undersadle pickup (i took it out), and replaced it with a nice magnetic pickup that i connect to the preamp.  this allowed me to file the bottom part of the saddle to my desired action.

Offline eds1122

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2012, 09:27:06 AM »
thanks for the tip! :mrgreen: