hulika

Author Topic: Bebop Scale  (Read 3233 times)

Offline mysmileyface

• Veteran Member
Bebop Scale
« on: August 27, 2012, 09:17:19 PM »
Can anyone teach me what is the basic of Bebop Scale and its note progression. I'll be very thankful if you can also derive the notes from the C major progression, e.g.:

C major: C D E F G A B C
C minor: C D Eb F G Ab Bb C
C blues: C D# F F# G # C

Yes, I know there are plenty of journals here in internet, videos particularly in Youtube. But I find it hard to learn, because they're using the basic, the core of music theory which I sadly forgotten (Some of it) now.

Thank you po! :)

*I've also posted this to the Bass Place section since I'm a bassist. I'm not spamming, I think these are the right sections to answer what I'm asking.

Offline dannygatton

• Veteran Member
Re: Bebop Scale
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 09:58:47 PM »
C-Bop

C-D-E-F-G-A-Bb-B-C-

I bop chromatically --descending.

Offline mysmileyface

• Veteran Member
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 11:57:22 PM »
Does that mean if do it in G, the notes would be G F D C# C Bb G?

Sir, another question. When I do blues in G, I feel that the B F# High E and High Eb is a a good passing note. I don't know if I'm right or wrong. Can you explain that to me, what scale am I using, is it okay to add those four notes?

Thank you po! :D

Offline cofibreyk

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2012, 09:15:47 AM »
just use your ears...there's no music in it if you're just gonna think of it as scales with it's passing notes and chordal tones and thinking if it is right or wrong based on musical theory. derive phrases instead and form sentences so that the message can come out. ..at least for me

Offline dannygatton

• Veteran Member
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2012, 06:03:09 PM »
Does that mean if do it in G, the notes would be G F D C# C Bb G?

NOH, IT SHOULD BE:  G-A-B-C-D-E-F-F#-G  (if descending go backwards)