hulika

Author Topic: help! dj tips  (Read 6155 times)

Offline d6ynast9y

help! dj tips
« on: March 21, 2009, 01:50:20 PM »
help fellow dance/electronica peeps

my friend got me an hour or half an hour slot
to dj at her birthday party at a big major club

its my first time to actually perform in front of
a large audience

im going with nothing but my roland mc 505 groovebox
and my korg kp1

ive been producing and practicing for this party for a couple weeks now
but im still very nervous,
what if no body dances???hehe

anyways, party is this tuesday night

any advice for a noob like me?  :-D

Offline chuck sabbath

• Forum Fanatic
Re: help! dj tips
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2009, 07:45:48 PM »
wait are you dj'ing or playing electronic music live? there is a difference you know...

sign up at the electronicamanila yahoo group fast people will help you there whichever one youre doing
In an expanding universe, time is on the side of the outcast. Those who once inhabited the suburbs of human contempt find that without changing their address they eventually live in the metropolis

Offline chuck sabbath

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2009, 08:02:18 PM »
your first time out with an mc505 and a kp1 for 90 minutes thats going to be tough. prepare to fall flat on your face. sorry to be less than encouraging but thats the reality for almost everyone

fill up your 505 to the brim with tons of kickass drum patterns, funky basslines and screaming leads. you might also want to bring an mp3 player along and fill it with weird ambient sounds, sound effects and movie dialog. i havent used the 505 but i know you can mix and match patterns from different tracks so that will help you keep a continuous flow. tweak that kp for all its worth. if you can rustle up another keyboard (preferably analog/va with lots of knobs and sliders) to play some lead/fx lines live so much the better

try to bring a buddy to jam with so he can share in the blame ;)