hulika

Author Topic: Can I use my acoustic guitar (w/pickups) through iRig?  (Read 1030 times)

Offline soundvent_ph

Can I use my acoustic guitar (w/pickups) through iRig?
« on: January 27, 2016, 06:08:10 AM »
Hello, Irig newbie here. When I plug my acoustic guitar to my iRig 1, sobrang hina at distorted ng tunog. Fresh batteries and it sounds well through an amp or Direct box. Pwede ko ba magamit ito through iRig? Im using an Ipad mini by the way. Thank you for you input!

Offline Ralph_Petrucci

• Namamasko po!
  • Philmusicus Supremus
Re: Can I use my acoustic guitar (w/pickups) through iRig?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 09:42:44 AM »

it will work, but don't expect it to sound mic'ed.

First, what pickups are you using with your acoustic? does it have an onboard preamp?

second, ensure that when plugging to your ipad, there are no effects active in the chain. (im assuming you're running amplitube or some sort of guitar app.
hahaha ako binibiyak ko muna yung wetpaks para makita kung may yellow thingy hahahaha

Offline soundvent_ph

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2016, 09:58:57 AM »
No, my guitar does not have an onboard pre amp (does it have to have a pre amp?). I run it through Jam Up with no pedals active. Just the Amp. Appreciate your help Ralph!

Offline Ralph_Petrucci

• Namamasko po!
  • Philmusicus Supremus
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2016, 10:08:44 AM »
No, my guitar does not have an onboard pre amp (does it have to have a pre amp?). I run it through Jam Up with no pedals active. Just the Amp. Appreciate your help Ralph!

ahhhhh. if its a piezo pickup (similar to those K&K/Elliot lemi) they will not sound as nice if not plugged into an amp. second, piezo disc pickups are picky as it has a specific output impedance that if not matched perfectly, will cause distortion in your sound.

you have the following options:

1. plug your guitar into a DI. RADIAL has a special DI to accommodate PIEZO level signals into line level/instrument level signals.