hulika

Author Topic: LOTS OF MIDI QUESTIONS  (Read 2689 times)

Offline titser_marco

• Philmusicus Addictus
LOTS OF MIDI QUESTIONS
« on: February 03, 2006, 10:57:15 AM »
Hi! I'm a complete newbie to the world of MIDI. I know it's been around for a while but I just want to ask a few questions regarding MIDI. I know that it can help me write because I think there are some programs out there that notate whatever I play on the MIDI keyboard and save it as a printable file that shows standard notation. (There is one, isn't there?)

Here are my questions:

1. I want a VERY basic MIDI setup. By basic, I mean I want to be able to control software synths such as Minimoog V, etc. What do I need, hardware and software wise?

2. Do I need a special soundcard? I read some where that I just need a sondcard with a game port and that's all. Is this true?

3. Do I still need to buy a MIDI interface aside from the soundcard?

4. What's a good MIDI controller keyboard for a beginner? I really am shooting for those Moog simulators so I want a controller that has those knobs that will allow me to modify stuff.

Thanks. I hope I didn't offend anyone by being so stupid.
I'd rather be sharp than flat.

Offline KitC

• Prime Moderator
Re: LOTS OF MIDI QUESTIONS
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2006, 01:05:39 PM »
Quote from: titser_marco
Hi! I'm a complete newbie to the world of MIDI. I know it's been around for a while but I just want to ask a few questions regarding MIDI. I know that it can help me write because I think there are some programs out there that notate whatever I play on the MIDI keyboard and save it as a printable file that shows standard notation. (There is one, isn't there?)

Here are my questions: