hulika

Author Topic: Can someone/somebody guide or help me to replace my tubes?  (Read 1341 times)

Offline dirtybluesplayer

• Philmusicus Addictus
Can someone/somebody guide or help me to replace my tubes?
« on: January 31, 2016, 12:22:15 AM »
I can see some tubes that needs to be replaced in the future. I'm noob at amp fixing. Do I really need to BIAS these? Or I can directly replace it? I found that watching a tutorial on youtube and reading articles on google search is useless for me, besides, we are in the country called 'Philippines'. I want to do it by myself, cause I know that an amp is more complicated to master it's maintenance.
By the way, this amp is a cheap Marshall DSL 40C.

Any opinion, answers and suggestions are highly appreciated and welcome.
Thanks  :-)

I know mang Raul is there but, I really wanted to learn and master the world of tube amp maintenance.

I'm a one eared musician, and yes I do exist.

Offline lolwat

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: Can someone/somebody guide or help me to replace my tubes?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2016, 01:27:35 AM »
By the way you typed your query, you're not even close to being qualified to touch the insides of your amp. It took me 5 years and countless hours of dabbling with DIY electronics to finally gather enough confidence to fiddle with the insides of my amp, and I almost broke the amp/electrocuted myself on the first try.

Each tube draws a certain amount of electricity different from others, even of the same type or brand. You need to bias each and every new set of power tubes you plug into the amp. Preamp tubes are plug and play.

I'll at least tell you what I used on my personal amp:

1. Digital multimeter
2. 1 ohm, 1 watt, 1 percent metal film resistor (one per each power tube on your amp)