hulika

Author Topic: NGD: Yamaha HS-80m  (Read 641 times)

Offline bahaw

NGD: Yamaha HS-80m
« on: November 21, 2010, 03:17:50 PM »
I noticed there aren't much review of this studio monitors in this forum so I decided to post one.  I'm a newbie when it comes to recording (as in audio engineering) but I do have experience recording as a musician.  Also, this is my first studio monitor so I can't really compare to other ones except for the ones I've used recording before.

I was torn apart whether to buy HS80m or HR624mk2 or HR824mk2.  I opted for HS80m with the ff: reasons - Price point and sound.  I listened to all of them, actually there was a JBL monitor available in my area but I read good reviews about the speakers I mentioned.

First I went to audition HS80m.  I had with me a CD with songs that I'm very familiar with including tracks that were recorded by my band before.  At first I was disappointed by what I heard.  The songs sounded harsh with highs and I couldn't hear the bass, but the mids projected really well.  But despite this, I heard our own tracks nearly as it was mixed in NS10 back then.  Then I figured I was in a big sales room with a lot noise, high ceiling and not acoustically treated.  The salesman was just too lazy to set it up in their listening room and only plugged in one speaker.  What a way to audition you might say.