hulika

Author Topic: Harsh criticisms are definitely welcome.  (Read 1794 times)

Offline ant.lopez

• Netizen Level
Harsh criticisms are definitely welcome.
« on: April 28, 2014, 02:22:17 PM »
Hi Y'all :),

I'm a newbie in home recording but I've been writing songs for quite some time now. The thing is, I have a solid idea of what the songs should sound like (in my head) but it doesn't really translate well on the outcome  :cry: For the masters out there, if it's not too much of your time, please criticize (harshly, positively, sarcastically) my recorded demo. You may criticize it however you like. But please let me know what area I should work on. Below are the links:

https://soundcloud.com/pyreants/i-swear-ill-never
https://soundcloud.com/pyreants/same-ol-sh-t

Thanks!

Offline bassman88

Re: Harsh criticisms are definitely welcome.
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 11:17:19 PM »
Can you share a little bit more about how this was recorded? It sounds like a stereo room recording. I'm not a master but I would love to help however I can.

Offline ant.lopez

• Netizen Level
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2014, 01:30:06 AM »
Hello bassman, thanks for listening  :) for the drum parts, I used ezdrummer which is kind of a mess as I don't have a drum kit :( For the bass part, I plugged the bass directly to my alessis multimix box. For the guitar parts, some of them were recorded straight to the multimix box  from my amp and some were mic'ed and I just mixed them down according to what sounds good to me which I think is the problem as I cannot get the sound right and I just add things here and there :-( . 2 of my friends told me that the guitars are 'tunog lata'  :cry: and reminded them of Siakol's recordings which is not what I intended. I was trying to get this Pixies raw recording vibe but I think it's impossible with my setup and I have no workflow or whatsover, just winging everything out. Hope you can share some tips with me, thanks man :)

Offline bassman88