hulika

Author Topic: Need recommendations: Detachable mini-mic for 12 string gtr, banjo, gitjo...  (Read 1515 times)

Offline deltaslim

• Philmusicus Addictus
Guys, I'm a noob when it comes to pro audio/music tech.  I need recommendations on ONE solution for micing my banjo, gitjo, 12 string gtr, and regular acoustic gtr.  I'm thinking something like a lavalier clip-on mic so I can easily attach and detach to transfer to another guitar in seconds! 

I'm not necessarily looking for the best audio quality but a balance of good, faithful acoustic sound reproduction but also the mobile/portable functionality to use up to 5 acoustic instruments w/ just one mic live performance.  It will need a long cable to reach either the amp or a preamp on the floor.

I've seen stuff like AT831CW and they seem cool but want to hear about other people's experience with them:
http://www.zzounds.com/item--AUTAT831CW

Some of you might suggest just using a regular mic like an SM57/58 and finding the best position in front of the instrument.  That's difficult for me cuz I tend to flail wildly and can't keep my body (and, therefore, the gtr) still.  The reglar mic can be a complementing setup to augment the clip-on mic's sound, but by itself it's never worked for me.

Thanks in advance for your help. 

« Last Edit: April 02, 2007, 09:14:26 AM by deltaslim »

Offline KitC

• Prime Moderator
Re: Need recommendations: Clip-on mic for 12 string gtr, banjo, gitjo...
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 06:52:49 PM »
Sir Joric! Nice to see you posting here!

When it comes to acoustic guitars and instruments, I guess the name of choice for pickups and transducers is Fishman. Some other banjo pups can be found here.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline deltaslim

• Philmusicus Addictus