hulika

Author Topic: John Mayer - CONTINUUM  (Read 9375 times)

Offline pmack

• Philmusicus Addictus
John Mayer - CONTINUUM
« on: October 10, 2006, 03:15:52 PM »

Sigh...

I have never been a big John Mayer fan.

I mean, yeah, I don't change the station when i hear his songs on the radio, but I have never bought any of his CD's. I couldn't understand all the super-hype about this one artist who reminds me a little bit of Dave Matthews (the man, not the band).

Until now.

After hearing samples of John Mayer's foray into blues with his John Mayer Trio live CD (TRY!), I thought, "Hmmm, great guitar work". I must emphasize though, that I am a drummer so my attention got side-tracked sometimes from Mayer's voice/lyrics/guitar playing to funkmaster Steve Jordan's drum patterns (which are awesome).

Then, not even a year after releasing the John Mayer Trio "TRY!" CD, he releases this. This must be the best CD of 2006 so far. This has GOTTA BE the best CD of 2006.

Mature subject matter, more bluesy and melancholic. I think Mayer is opening new doors in his musical palette (or maybe he's just showing 'em now). I mean, he's paying homage to his roots and I love it. In the JM Trio CD he covered Ray Charles' "I Got A Woman", then here, he covers Jimi Hendrix's "Bold As Love". How much more "old school" can you be?

Thank you John Mayer for this release.
Thank you for trying to save american pop music.
I sure hope you succeed...

Offline cosmicbebelgum

• Philmusicus Noobitus
John Mayer - CONTINUUM
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2006, 03:45:57 AM »
I'm the biggest John Mayer fan ever! I love all of his albums and songs, even those that he plays out of his album. I'd be in the front seats if ever he performs in Manila.