hulika

Author Topic: computer questions  (Read 1276 times)

Offline mariuo

computer questions
« on: July 28, 2006, 11:48:37 AM »
hello

i thought i might ask about this cause well im a newb to recording and i dont really know much about computers so here goes. what is the frontside bus? is it something to consider for recording? what about the L1 and L2 and sometimes L3 caches? is this also important for recording? sorry but i've been seeing this in other forums and dont really know what they do and what they're for :P thanks, any help would be appreciated

Offline KitC

• Prime Moderator
Re: computer questions
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2006, 02:54:55 PM »
Quote from: mariuo
hello

i thought i might ask about this cause well im a newb to recording and i dont really know much about computers so here goes. what is the frontside bus? is it something to consider for recording? what about the L1 and L2 and sometimes L3 caches? is this also important for recording? sorry but i've been seeing this in other forums and dont really know what they do and what they're for :P thanks, any help would be appreciated

I think this belongs in the PC Tech forum but the Wikipedia gives a very good description, quote: "In computers, the front side bus (FSB) is a term for the physical bi-directional data bus that carries all electronic signal information between the central processing unit (CPU) and other devices within the system such as random access memory (RAM), the memory containing the system BIOS, AGP video cards, PCI expansion cards, hard disks, etc.

Some computers have an L2 or L3 memory cache external to the CPU connected via a back side bus. This bus and the cache memory connected to it is faster than accessing the system RAM via the front side bus."