hulika

Author Topic: TUBE PROBLEM: Changing Mesa Boogie tubes  (Read 4947 times)

Offline B2G

• Philmusicus Noobitus
TUBE PROBLEM: Changing Mesa Boogie tubes
« on: November 23, 2008, 11:23:08 AM »
hey guys! i'd really appreciate if you could help me out yet again with another problem.. tubes!! i currently have a Mesa Boogie mark iv and it has 4 Mesa 6l6's and 5 Mesa 12ax7's! for a long time i've been itching to change the tubes to refresh the tone of the amp but the problem is i cant get a hold of  new Mesa Boogie tubes to these specs and its really hard for me to contact someone who could get me a set.. :-( i was wondering, you guys think it would be okay to use other brands of tubes for my amp(ex: jj tubes, ruby tubes, etc.)? :? im kinda new to the tube field so i hope you guys could help me out :-) thanks a lot guys!   

here's a pic of my "wrecking ball" Bertha! :mrgreen: enjoy!

Offline demoboi

• Forum Fanatic
Re: TUBE PROBLEM: Changing Mesa Boogie tubes
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 11:38:15 AM »
yah. I guess you can use any other brand of tube as long as it is 12ax7.
EXN PEDALBOARDS AND CASES http://talk.philmusic.com/board/index.php/topic,76364.0.html09173208410 / YM: exnpedalboards / skype: exn_pedalboards / fb: exnpedalboards / multiply: exnpedalboards

Offline Phil

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2008, 12:41:48 PM »