hulika

Author Topic: Any experience in using a compound radius fretboard?  (Read 1223 times)

Offline teleleng

Any experience in using a compound radius fretboard?
« on: March 01, 2013, 12:08:17 PM »
What's the overall feel, playability in strumming and in doing leads? Does it really make a big difference in the comfort of the hand and in the fingers? I used a 7.5 radius before and it sucked...My fingers got calloused and my hand painful after each session...Then I used the 9.5 and everything got better....Any theory on this?

Offline dirtybluesplayer

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: Any experience in using a compound radius fretboard?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2013, 12:16:38 PM »
7.5 radius is known as the vintage radius, especially early fenders, I tried some of fender classics, pero naliitan at nanipisan sa neck feel. Mas mahirap tantsahin yung action niyan. 9.5radius is comfortable
I'm a one eared musician, and yes I do exist.

Offline af_villaruel

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2013, 12:34:12 PM »
The radius of my current Strat's neck is actually a straight 12". It has jumbo frets and the frets were levelled to have a compound radius so that the upper notes have a 16" radius. Allows for great bends. Doesn't choke out. Yun naman ang problema ng vintage necks eh.

But my Strat project with Mike Sison will sport a 9.5" radiused neck. :)

Offline Al_Librero

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2013, 01:21:44 PM »
What compound radius are you asking about, exactly?
Trashcan of Thoughts - http://www.allibrero.com

Offline nathanmanansala

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2013, 01:31:58 PM »
it doesnt "feel" any different sa regular neck. you'll just notice na di nagfre-fret out yung bends mo and you can set the strings a bit lower than you would with a regular vintage fender style radius.

so mararamdaman mo nga. labo ko talaga.