hulika

Author Topic: Tascam FW 1082 and Novation Remote SL issues  (Read 1123 times)

Offline kamada

• Netizen Level
Tascam FW 1082 and Novation Remote SL issues
« on: November 20, 2006, 03:43:21 AM »
Total newbie question po.  :|

I have the Tascam FW 1082, but I need a nice midi controller keyboard for midi input. and since I am still a daft newb, I have no idea if the Novation Remote 37 SL and the Tascam FW 1082 can work together in the same sequencer simultaneously. I hope to work on Cubase, Live and Reason in the future with these two concurrently working together. If the Remote was a simple midi keyboard I wouldn't have any doubts on compatibility, but the Remote has an automap function which means it might automatically overide the Tascam, which is my main preamp and Audio interface. Both are midi controlllers with midi in, thru and out, but one uses firewire as an input and the other usb, so I don't think I can use the midi thru. besides, I may be wrong, but won't making the Remote a slave defeat its automapping? Automapping is the primary reason I want the Remote. Should I just stick instead with a simple midi keyboard?

Any thoughts on the matter will be much appreciated. ciao!

Offline KitC

• Prime Moderator
Re: Tascam FW 1082 and Novation Remote SL issues
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2006, 12:34:16 PM »
You should be able to use both simultaneously. Either interface will be assign it's own midi port, regardless of where it's connected to. You should see something like "Novation USB Midi" and "Tascam Midi" (not having either, I'm not really sure what names will show up) among your midi I/O.