hulika

Author Topic: String gauge for Slipknot/Periphery/Alter Bridge/Tremonti/Chevelle?  (Read 2574 times)

Offline Pfizer

• Forum Fanatic
Hey guys, I'm looking to play some stuff from the above mentioned bands. I was just wondering what string gauges you would suggest for them? I'm not a professional musician by any means, but I do play in a cover band so I've currently got 3 electrics and an acoustic.

My main guitar is a JP6 which basically lives in E-standard/Drop D/Eb, strung with Ernie Ball 09-42 strings. I don't mess around with the tuning too much on this guitar because of the floating trem.

I have two other guitars, an Ibanez 652FX and a PRS SE Custom 24 with the trem blocked.

My question is what gauge strings to use on those two guitars to be able to play the stuff from the bands I mentioned? Like I said, I'm limited financially so I can't get a guitar for every tuning. Those three guitars are my entire arsenal  :cry:

I'm thinking of using EBMM Not-Even-Slinkys 12-56 on the Ibanez and Dunlop Heavy Core 11-50 on the PRS SE. Will this let me play the tunings below without the strings being all floppy once everything is set up?

Here are the tunings for the bands I mentioned:

Periphery:
Open Cadd9 (CGCEGD) - "Scarlet"
D standard with Drop A - "The Bad Thing"
AGCFAD - "Alpha"
Bb Drop Ab - "Icarus Lives"
D Drop C - "Heavy Heart", "Luck As Constant" "Pale Aura"

Tremonti/Alter Bridge:
C# Drop B
C Standard
C# Standard
D Standard
Open B
Eb Drop Db
Bb Ab Db Gb Bb Eb

Slipknot:
B Drop A

Chevelle:
C Drop Bb

Your help and advice would be very much appreciated!

Offline lolwat

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: String gauge for Slipknot/Periphery/Alter Bridge/Tremonti/Chevelle?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2015, 03:18:36 AM »
Instead of worrying about strings, maybe you should get yourself a Digitech Drop pedal. That way you can use the same gauge of string you always use but still have the ability to switch tunings.

Offline KennyKen