hulika

Author Topic: need help! condenser mic is clipping!  (Read 1605 times)

Offline emdsey

• Philmusicus Noobitus
need help! condenser mic is clipping!
« on: December 15, 2008, 04:38:48 PM »
hi mga sirs, newbie here  :-D

my problem: i used to record with a shure sm58 and got great dynamics in the tracks. i could shout into the songs with minimal clipping. now, i upgraded into a samson CL7 which sounds really great when singing normal volumes. but once i get into louder parts like the chorus (not really shouting but on the verge of shouting), it clips! and it sounds terrible. i cant really correct it with my plug-in compressor. so i tried singing further away from the mic. but doing so reduces the lower frequency band in the recording.

what work arounds should i consider?

here are my theories:
> i should get a compressor/limiter hardware and connect it pre audio interface
> perhaps my audio interface device has low quality preamps (its a lexicon alpha, though im using a behringer mic200 preamp as the first input device)

most likely a comp/lim will solve this right? and thats why pros invest alot in this hardware right?

just need to confirm this to i know if thats the right place for my money to go.

thanks,
MJ

Offline abyssinianson

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: need help! condenser mic is clipping!
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2008, 04:07:53 AM »
an SM58 is a dynamic mic so by nature it is less sensitive to loud sound sources than a condenser which is powered by phantom power (48v) and is more sensitive to loud noises. to properly use a condenser is to lower the gain on your mic pre and watch the gain on the mixer to see it does not clip. you will want the fader close to zero for starters. also use a pop shield when using the condenser, it'll help smooth the signal out from plosives.