hulika

Author Topic: another newbie question....  (Read 1486 times)

Offline leech

• Philmusicus Addictus
another newbie question....
« on: July 05, 2006, 01:34:46 PM »
i already have a presonus firepod and it is bundled with cubase LE with 48 tracks.. my question is....

1. if i already used the 8 mic/line inputs and 1-8 tracks on the software, and i want to add some more guitars and vocals.... can i still use the 8 mic/line inputs that i used for 1-8 again and assign it to tracks 9-16 in the cubase? or do i still need to add another firepod to compensate another 8 inputs?

2. is m-audio compatible with presonus? can i link a delta 1010 with the firepod?

hehe, pardon the ignorance.... im just a newbie.. :D

thanks! :D
...the strong take from the weak...but the wise take from the strong...

Offline KitC

• Prime Moderator
Re: another newbie question....
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 02:19:41 PM »
Quote from: leech
1. if i already used the 8 mic/line inputs and 1-8 tracks on the software, and i want to add some more guitars and vocals.... can i still use the 8 mic/line inputs that i used for 1-8 again and assign it to tracks 9-16 in the cubase? or do i still need to add another firepod to compensate another 8 inputs?

Just create the new tracks in Cubase and assign their inputs to the same 1-8 inputs on the firepod. That's the beauty of computer recording, you can keep on adding track after track to the limits of your software or hardware. You don't need 24 inputs to record 24 tracks, just 're-use' the same inputs over and over.

Quote from: leech

2. is m-audio compatible with presonus? can i link a delta 1010 with the firepod?

In what sense do you mean compatible. Since Cubase uses asio, you can only use one asio device at a time. Some soundcard manufacturers develop drivers that allow you to use multiple instances of their brand of soundcards. However, you cannot 'spread' asio driver usage over different brands of cards.