hulika

Author Topic: Can you plug an electric guitar in an acoustic amp? or vice versa?  (Read 1763 times)

Offline deepblue

• Philmusicus Noobitus
Hi. I'm a newbie from manila.

Want to your opinions/experiences with "acoustic/electric" guitars, and the gears that they are paired with.

Questions:

1. Can I plug an acoustic/electric guitar in a normal non-acoustic amp? Would the sound suffer? Would I still get that acoustic timbre?

2. Can I plug a purely electric guitar in an acoustic amp? Would it sound as good?

3. If I use an acoustic effect simulator on my electric guitar and then plug it into a normal non-acoustic amp, do you think its a good idea?

I'm asking because right now Iam using a Yamaha 112 electric guitar (i play in a church band) and I want to be able to switch from electric to acoustic for softer songs. If I could achieve this without buying another guitar, or another amp, that would be heaven for me.

I'd love to hear your suggestions.

Thanks
« Last Edit: December 14, 2006, 10:05:19 AM by deepblue »

Offline greenweenie

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: Can you plug an electric guitar in an acoustic amp? or vice versa?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2006, 02:52:12 PM »
Pwede lahat yan. Isa isa:

1. Yes the sound will suffer. It will sound like an acoustic but not as good as plugging into a mixer/acoustic amp.

2. I've tried this. Ang maganda dito, medyo flat ang frequency response ng mga acoustic amp so you can use a modelling tool like a Pod or V-Amp and get a convicing sound.

3. There are good acoustic simulators around. Check them out - Boss AC2, AC3; Behringer Acoustic Simulator or the ones you find in multi-effects.

Hope this helps

Offline strummer

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2006, 06:46:05 PM »
experience ko sa non-acoustic amps distorted ang magiging tunog ng acoustic guitar. kumbaga may konting grunge. da best pa rin sa acoustic amp, or direct sa mixer. you can do this by using a direct box or a preamp.