hulika

Author Topic: pro tools question  (Read 2411 times)

Offline mariuo

pro tools question
« on: April 25, 2006, 12:12:03 PM »
hi there i just bought a second hand mbox and well im really new to pro tools. everything was going fine till i tried to bounce the tracks to my hard drive. some error message saying something like "your disk might be too slow or fragmented". so does this mean i have to get an external hard drive just for mixingdown audio from pro tools? kind of a hassle. i use an ibook g4 1.33 with 1.5gb ram and 60gb hdd if you need the spec of my pc. well any help would be much appreciated :D thanks

-mario

Offline abyssinianson

• Philmusicus Addictus
pro tools question
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2006, 01:59:49 PM »
most likely OR...just upgrade the drive on your ibook. i upgraded my dell laptop drive to a 100GB seagate. although i dont do hardcore sequencing on it, it is my main composition computer when I fly or spend time in between flights at airports. i run, reason 3, adobe audition, and Ableton Live 5 on it for sketching out ideas that I can work on at home.
ako si mimordz. 友だちからよろしくです!

Offline KitC

• Prime Moderator
pro tools question
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2006, 06:34:32 PM »
Fragmented hard drives cause a big hit on HD thoughput so it would be best to defragment before a recording session. Editing audio can cause fragmentation, especially multiple edits, because of the numerous read/writes performed on an audio file; quit apparent when you create multiple regions from one region in PT, not to mention non-realtime processes and destructive edits.

While it would be nice to have an external firewire drive, it would mean another peripheral to lug around with your iBook. I'd go with abyss' advice on the internal HD upgrade first then consider an external drive for backup purposes. Could always archive data to CD/DVD if HD space becomes an issue.