hulika

Author Topic: Setting up your PC for Recording  (Read 156387 times)

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #500 on: January 07, 2010, 11:38:04 AM »
May nagbigay sakin ng old canton na speaker 100watts at 8ohms, pwede ko bang gamitin siya bilang monitor speaker lagay lang ako ng power amp at mixer?

For serious recording, I doubt you can rely on the accuracy of this speaker. Just connect it to your hifi.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline redballs17

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #501 on: January 07, 2010, 11:40:39 AM »
For serious recording, I doubt you can rely on the accuracy of this speaker. Just connect it to your hifi.

sayangs bili na lang siguro ko ng monitor speaker. thanks.

Offline samuelfianza

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #502 on: January 09, 2010, 10:33:20 AM »
Ano po ang mga kailangan pag magrerecord ng vocals?
STATUA - Experimental Music http://statuaph.bandcamp.com/
DISPERSE MEDIA - Audio Production / Recording http://disperse.media
Random music ideas http://soundcloud.com/sammol

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #503 on: January 09, 2010, 12:54:42 PM »
Ano po ang mga kailangan pag magrerecord ng vocals?

A microphone would be nice...

Seriously, get the best gear you can afford for vocals, starting with the mic, preamp, and interface. Don't also forget about getting good cables... no point in getting premium gear then connecting it with cheap, crappy cables.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline Mr.Floyd

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #504 on: January 14, 2010, 03:40:19 PM »
sir question po pla ulit about drum recording.. im planning to use drum software like addictive drums ezdrummer etc. para dun ko kkunin yung tunog sa software and i'll use an alesis dm5 module triggered to my acoustic kit para ma control ko yung software via midi.. possible po ba na kahit i direct ko nalang yung module through usb via midi-usb cable kahit hindi na dumaan sa audio interface?thanks in advance, :-)
The more you dream the more you achieve


Offline redballs17

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #505 on: January 14, 2010, 05:46:06 PM »
I recently bought a Digitech RP155 as a recording interface. Other add-ons (like recomended software and other stuffs) that can enhance my recordings?

My set-up
Guitar ===> RP155 ===> CPU and Amp

TIA

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #506 on: January 15, 2010, 08:31:08 AM »
possible po ba na kahit i direct ko nalang yung module through usb via midi-usb cable kahit hindi na dumaan sa audio interface?thanks in advance, :-)

Remember that you are using the DM5 only as a midi controller in order to trigger samples from ezdrummer. Since the drums are software, it's only a matter of recording the midi tracks, then rendering the resulting audio from ezdrummer. As an example, record a midi drum track then 'freeze' the track. Normally, your daw software will render an audio track from the softsynth.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #507 on: January 15, 2010, 08:50:36 AM »
I recently bought a Digitech RP155 as a recording interface. Other add-ons (like recomended software and other stuffs) that can enhance my recordings?

You can use freeware such as audacity to begin recording. Sonar 8 has a trial edition that you can use for 30 days. There are other software out there such as Propellerheads' Record and Steinberg's Cubase. Choose the one that feels comfortable for you.

One more thing you might need especially when mixing... good monitors.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline berbs

  • Philmusicus Noobitus
  • *
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #508 on: January 19, 2010, 04:40:47 PM »
sir, ok pa din po bang gamitin ang cool edit? hanggang ngaun kc ganun pa din ang gamit ko.

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #509 on: January 19, 2010, 08:29:19 PM »
Sir noob question. Ano ba sir yung mga 16-bit, 24-bit, na nakalagay sa mga DAW and sa mga pagprocess ng wave file? Tsaka samplerate na rin sir? Ang alam ko lang the higher the value the better the quality ng audio. One time kasi nagrecording ako na nakaset yung DAW ko ng 16-bit. AFter ng recording may option na yung wav file is 24-bit. Edi pinili ko yung 24-bit. Pwede nyo ba ako mabigyan ng linaw or some explanation sir? Tnx!!! :-D

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #510 on: January 20, 2010, 11:10:48 AM »
sir, ok pa din po bang gamitin ang cool edit? hanggang ngaun kc ganun pa din ang gamit ko.

Cool edit is ok. Early editions didn't do vst and asio, however, and it didn't have midi capabilities - not really a problem if you don't do midi. CE is now known as Audition and it is better, IMO, with the inclusion of spectral editing.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #511 on: January 20, 2010, 11:17:43 AM »
One time kasi nagrecording ako na nakaset yung DAW ko ng 16-bit. AFter ng recording may option na yung wav file is 24-bit.

You will not gain much by increasing the bit rate of a 16-bit file to 24-bit. What it does is just add 8 zeroes to the end of the 16-bit word, and you don't gain anything in terms of detail. It is better to record a wav as 24-bit initially, rather than convert from 16 to 24.

There is a reason for recording at 24-bit. Better headroom for one. Usually, detail is in the last 4 to 8 bits of a 24-bit word. Fades, reverbs and high frequencies benefit from using the high bit rate. If you want to be able to hear the difference bit rate makes, try converting a file to 8-bit or even 4-bit if you could play it, then listen to the loss of detail. A similar effect can be achieved if you also use lower sampling rates such as 11 khz or below.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #512 on: January 20, 2010, 11:29:16 AM »
^^ So kung yung soundcard ko sir(POD XT Live) is 96khz and 16-bit, no use kung yung daw ko is nakaset sa 24-bit? Sir maraming salamat nalinawan ako dun sa explanation nyo about 16-bit and 24-bit!!
Another question pa pala!! Maapektuhan ba yung latency if ever from 16-bit gawin kong 24-bit? Tnx tnx tnx!!!

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #513 on: January 20, 2010, 12:10:34 PM »
^^ So kung yung soundcard ko sir(POD XT Live) is 96khz and 16-bit, no use kung yung daw ko is nakaset sa 24-bit?

It's better to keep the DAW at 24-bit or even 16-bit processing, which is different from converting a file from 16-bit to 24-bit. Most daws today operate at 24-, 32- or even 64-bit internal processing, which is different from recording a wav natively as 24-bit. Your soundcard has to be 24-bit capable in order to record 24-bit wavs; if the POD is only 16-bit, it will only record 16-bit wavs. The increased processing bit rate is necessary for plugins; reverbs and compression, for ex., sound smoother if you use high bit rate processing.

Another question pa pala!! Maapektuhan ba yung latency if ever from 16-bit gawin kong 24-bit? Tnx tnx tnx!!!

No, but you will find that latency is slower at higher sample rates. The only caveat to this is that cpu loading can be inordinately high at sample rates above 48 khz so if you have a relatively low powered cpu, you may have fewer tracks available to you. One more thing, not all plugins operate at high sample rates.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #514 on: January 20, 2010, 11:11:44 PM »
^^ Sir Kit maraming salamat!! Super nalinawan ako!!!! :-D :-D :-D

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #515 on: January 21, 2010, 09:56:48 AM »
It's better to keep the DAW at 24-bit or even 16-bit processing, which is different from converting a file from 16-bit to 24-bit. Most daws today operate at 24-, 32- or even 64-bit internal processing, which is different from recording a wav natively as 24-bit. Your soundcard has to be 24-bit capable in order to record 24-bit wavs; if the POD is only 16-bit, it will only record 16-bit wavs. The increased processing bit rate is necessary for plugins; reverbs and compression, for ex., sound smoother if you use high bit rate processing.

No, but you will find that latency is lower at higher sample rates. The only caveat to this is that cpu loading can be inordinately high at sample rates above 48 khz so if you have a relatively low powered cpu, you may have fewer tracks available to you. One more thing, not all plugins operate at high sample rates.

EDIT: Latency is lower... not slower.  8-)
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline berbs

  • Philmusicus Noobitus
  • *
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #516 on: January 21, 2010, 12:58:39 PM »
Cool edit is ok. Early editions didn't do vst and asio, however, and it didn't have midi capabilities - not really a problem if you don't do midi. CE is now known as Audition and it is better, IMO, with the inclusion of spectral editing.
thanks po sir. saan po ba makakakuha ng audition at ano po ba ang ibig sabihin ng vst, asio at IMO? cencia na po sir maxado na akong hindi updated about recording. Im planning po kasing magtayo ng rehearsal studio and maybe recording studio in a very low budget status. anu po ba ang maganda for soundproofing? cheap but effective soundproof. salamat po.

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #517 on: January 23, 2010, 11:29:58 AM »
Noob question sir Kit!! Ano yung high pass filters and paano ito ginagamit? Salamat!!!!

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #518 on: January 23, 2010, 12:29:49 PM »
thanks po sir. saan po ba makakakuha ng audition at ano po ba ang ibig sabihin ng vst, asio at IMO?

Only so much can be posted in this site that hasn't already been posted elsewhere, so why re-invent the wheel? Go to www.tweakheadz.com and go through the guides there; the site is an excellent resource for everything audio and noobs will benefit from reading everything that site has to offer. Google other sites that also offer information about recording. Sorry, there's no shortcut if you want to improve in this biz.

As for Audition, you'll have to get it from Adobe. I know others will point you to torrent and warez sites, but there's nothing like starting right. I also know that most usually "try-before-you-buy", but let's face it, if you want to succeed in a business that you absolutely depend on, then why kill it? Buy the software you use, and I don't mean from G'hills and other dvd/cd shops.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #519 on: January 23, 2010, 12:38:39 PM »
Noob question sir Kit!! Ano yung high pass filters and paano ito ginagamit? Salamat!!!!

High pass filters are EQs that pass audio above a certain frequency. This means that if you have a high pass set at 250 Hz, then it will pass frequencies from 250 Hz and above while attenuating (or cutting off completely) frequencies below 250 Hz. This type of EQ is often used to cut bass frequencies from a track or mix, especially if you want to remove "mud" from instruments that can obscure other instruments that are meant for playing bass.

An example of this is putting a high pass on guitar (or other instruments) so that the low end does not interfere with the bass guitar or kick drum, for example. Clearing up this "mud" makes the bass guitar more prominent and distinct.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #520 on: January 23, 2010, 12:44:06 PM »
High pass filters are EQs that pass audio above a certain frequency. This means that if you have a high pass set at 250 Hz, then it will pass frequencies from 250 Hz and above while attenuating (or cutting off completely) frequencies below 250 Hz. This type of EQ is often used to cut bass frequencies from a track or mix, especially if you want to remove "mud" from instruments that can obscure other instruments that are meant for playing bass.

An example of this is putting a high pass on guitar (or other instruments) so that the low end does not interfere with the bass guitar or kick drum, for example. Clearing up this "mud" makes the bass guitar more prominent and distinct.
Haaayy ang lupet nyo sir!!!! Another brain cells nanaman sa utak ko dahil sa inyo!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Maraming salamat!!! :-D

Offline mr. gellybean

  • Netizen Level
  • **
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #521 on: February 10, 2010, 08:27:12 AM »
Ok.... rather than set up a tutorial thread, let's make this into a Q & A sort of thread and the emphasis will be on setting up your PC regardless of the specs.

Hi sir Kit,

Somebody gave me an Asus Commando motherboard with 4 gig of ram sticks... here's a link for the

specshttp://www.motherboards.org/reviews/motherboards/1706_2.html

what can you advice if im gonna build this into an audio workstation?  parts e.g. processor and what not... also, will this be compatible with the Fireface 800 from RME?  this board seems to only have one firewire...  thanks a lot...

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #522 on: February 10, 2010, 09:53:53 AM »
The Commando is for all intents and purposes, a gaming board because it has more 16x pcie slots than pci (2 only IIRC). Still, it can make a good DAW. Don't worry much about the firewire, either get a firewire expansion board or get an RME pci or pcie soundcard; the RME's seem to work well with most mobos.

It also is based on the Intel 965 chipset so you can use current 775-pin processors - see compatibility charts on the Asus site to confirm which are compatible.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #523 on: February 11, 2010, 12:46:52 PM »
Sir may binili akong 2nd hand Neo laptop. Eto po yung specs:
Processor:    Intel Pentium Dual CPU T3400 @ 2.16Ghz
RAM:           2GB
OS:             Win7 64-bit
DAW:          Guitar Tracks Pro 3
Snoundcard: Pod XT Live
Harddisk:     250GB (paano ba sir malalaman yung speed ng harddisk ko?)

Sir hingi lang ako ng tulong nagkakaproblema talaga ako sa latency. Tamang driver for the soundcard naman gamit ko. Nkaset sa 96kHz, 24bit recording yung GT Pro3 with I/O Buffer Size set at 128kb.

Hingi rin sana ako ng email nyo sir send ko sa inyo yung nirecord ko hingi ako ng comments. Tnx

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #524 on: February 12, 2010, 10:28:58 AM »
@Xelly - most laptops come with 5400 rpm drives. Recording at 96/24 can be hard on the cpu especially if you have several tracks already. There's nothing wrong with using 44.1 khz/24-bits for recording. Just post a link to your recording... I can PM you my email addy instead.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire