hulika

Author Topic: Setting up your PC for Recording  (Read 153663 times)

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #850 on: February 11, 2012, 10:52:07 AM »
Need your advise, Im planning to purchase a ALESIS io2 express and use it with my laptop, so can I indeed connect my guitar directly without any pre amps?

from here: http://homerecording.com/bbs/general-discussions/newbies/alesis-io2-sonar-fuzzy-problem-277610/

The io2 doesn't have any dedicated drivers - go figure - and you are require to use asio4all. This creates problems as far as configuration goes and if you read the bottom post, the writer was able to find a workaround. Personally, I'd rather invest in an interface with drivers and hardware I can depend on.

Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

jacobb45

  • Guest
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #851 on: February 17, 2012, 02:03:05 AM »
sir ask ko lng po kung pano mag record nang bass guitar sa pc?

kz po gus2 kong mag cover nang kanta eh...

and pano po kung me kasamang video?

hirap po kz eh meron po aqng guitar rig 5 na app tsaka amplitube 3 (with ASIO na po)

kaso pag naka saksak na ung bass guitar q sa line in..

hnd naman tumutunog dun sa gr5 or amplutube 3..

p help nmn po thanks in advance..

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #852 on: February 17, 2012, 10:58:37 AM »
sir ask ko lng po kung pano mag record nang bass guitar sa pc?

kz po gus2 kong mag cover nang kanta eh...

and pano po kung me kasamang video?

hirap po kz eh meron po aqng guitar rig 5 na app tsaka amplitube 3 (with ASIO na po)

kaso pag naka saksak na ung bass guitar q sa line in..

hnd naman tumutunog dun sa gr5 or amplutube 3..

p help nmn po thanks in advance..

Bawal text spelling!!!

Check mo input settings sa software mo.

jacobb45

  • Guest
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #853 on: February 17, 2012, 06:15:51 PM »
paseynsya po sir..

chineck ko naman po ung sa audio settings eh..
tumutunog naman ung line in..
tsaka ung settings ko dun sa gr5 asio lng naman po pero hnd nmn natunog...
kz sinunod ko lng tung tutorial eh ..click lng nila ung asio dun then ok na cla..

Online jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #854 on: February 18, 2012, 01:24:30 PM »
Hi sir kitc or anyone who can check this out.


 Question about another possible set up. This time using a behringer uca - 202 connected to a soundcraft spirit f1. Will I still need a di or pre amp  for a guitar that's used to connect to it? Or can I plug it straight?

I'm thinking as an alternative, I can use my marshall 10w amp, plug the guitar in and use the head phone output and use it to connect the amp to the mixer.

Any suggestion on this one?
I'm trying to choose from the uca-202 or a alesis io2.

Thanks guys!


Offline kelen

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #855 on: February 19, 2012, 12:40:01 PM »
sir, ang balak ko gawin is to make my computer part of the effects chain. bale ang gagawin ko ay gagamitin ko yung fast track para mainput ko yung guitar. ang di ko alam ay kung paano yung output from fast track/pc to amp. thanks

Offline packyshingha

  • Netizen Level
  • **
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #856 on: February 19, 2012, 02:11:39 PM »
Mga Sir, Specially Sir KitC:
boss pano po kaya gawin yung effects ng owl city? i mean ung synthesizer na gamit dun, gusto ko po mamaster yun kung pano gumawa ng ganun, medyo marunong na ako gumamit ng mga VST instruments.. pero ndi ko magawa ung ganung style ng effects.. may idea po ba kayo or kahit plug-ins na free?


Thanks in advance.. :)

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #857 on: February 20, 2012, 12:11:13 PM »
kaso pag naka saksak na ung bass guitar q sa line in..

line in ng ano? computer? you need an interface with an instrument input.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #858 on: February 20, 2012, 02:06:03 PM »
Will I still need a di or pre amp  for a guitar that's used to connect to it? Or can I plug it straight?

You will need an instrument DI or preamp with instrument level inputs. Don't plug in straight to the line inputs unless it is a keyboard or some other device with line level outputs.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #859 on: February 20, 2012, 04:08:36 PM »
Mga Sir, Specially Sir KitC:
boss pano po kaya gawin yung effects ng owl city? i mean ung synthesizer na gamit dun, gusto ko po mamaster yun kung pano gumawa ng ganun

How well do you know midi and synth programming? In most cases, the synths used by owl City were probably custom programmed (patches and arpeggios) so it won't be as easy as picking a preset and sounding immediately like him. I read that he works entirely in (Propellerheads) Reason but records to Pro Tools. His synths include a Nord Wave and Moog Voyager. Here's a list of the softsynths he uses:

Spectrasonics Omnisphere
Spectrasonics Trilian
Spectrasonics Stylus RMX
Korg Mono/Poly
Korg MS-20
Korg Polysix
Korg LegacyCell
Vienna Instruments
Digidesign Velvet
Synthogy Ivory
Drumagog
Native Instruments Kontact
Native Instruments Battery
Native Instruments Reaktor
Native Instruments Absynth
Native Instruments FM8
Native Instruments Massive
Native Instruments Guitar Rig
Native Instruments Alicia's Keys
He also uses Autotune...

As you can see, it's a very extensive list and AFAIK, Adam Young did the programming and recording himself although the produced sound tells me his music was mixed and mastered somewhere else.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline packyshingha

  • Netizen Level
  • **
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #860 on: February 20, 2012, 05:43:26 PM »
How well do you know midi and synth programming? In most cases, the synths used by owl City were probably custom programmed (patches and arpeggios) so it won't be as easy as picking a preset and sounding immediately like him. I read that he works entirely in (Propellerheads) Reason but records to Pro Tools. His synths include a Nord Wave and Moog Voyager. Here's a list of the softsynths he uses:

Spectrasonics Omnisphere
Spectrasonics Trilian
Spectrasonics Stylus RMX
Korg Mono/Poly
Korg MS-20
Korg Polysix
Korg LegacyCell
Vienna Instruments
Digidesign Velvet
Synthogy Ivory
Drumagog
Native Instruments Kontact
Native Instruments Battery
Native Instruments Reaktor
Native Instruments Absynth
Native Instruments FM8
Native Instruments Massive
Native Instruments Guitar Rig
Native Instruments Alicia's Keys
He also uses Autotune...

As you can see, it's a very extensive list and AFAIK, Adam Young did the programming and recording himself although the produced sound tells me his music was mixed and mastered somewhere else.

@Sir KitC Ah ganun po ba Sir.. Ang galing kasi ng mga mixed nya,  lately lang po kasi ako naHumaling sa Electronica / Pop... may inaayos pa po akong mixed ngayon eto po draft http://soundcloud.com/ejclores/will-it-hurt-super-final medyo madame pa pong kulang jan ..  <_<  Sorry sablay ang pagkakanta ko.. :(

kapag napakinggan nyo po bigyan nyo po ako ng suggestion para mapaganda ko pa ang tunog.. 3 days ko na pong inaayos yan.. Moog Voyager din po ang gamit kong synthesizer.. :)
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 04:50:09 PM by packyshingha »

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #861 on: February 21, 2012, 05:23:25 PM »
Interesting that you got a voyager (pics or it didn't happen)  :wave: hehe

The synth intrudes with the vocals. what is the real focus of your song? vox or keys? that alone decides how you will mix your song.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline packyshingha

  • Netizen Level
  • **
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #862 on: February 21, 2012, 05:35:46 PM »
Interesting that you got a voyager (pics or it didn't happen)  :wave: hehe

The synth intrudes with the vocals. what is the real focus of your song? vox or keys? that alone decides how you will mix your song.

No Sir, Wala akong pangBili ng Moog Voyager.. :) what i mean is yung VST na gamit ko kasi moog din sya so hirap mamili ng sub category nya ang dameng pagpipilian ng tunog under kay moog synthesizer.. Vox po ang focus ko kasi yung keys yun lang naman paulit-ulit.hehe

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #863 on: February 21, 2012, 05:44:01 PM »
Well, I just happened to download the iPad Animoog last Dec. which just cost me $0.99 because it was an introductory pricing. The only problem I have right now is midi control of the ipad since it requires an interface that isn't tops on my list right now but I digress.

EQ the synth. kill the mids so that it doesn't interfere with your vox. when it solos, thats the time it goes full spectrum (sort of). also try to use creative panning. for vox, all i can tell you is that you should sound more confident. I was listening to Walk Off the Earth's 'Someone I Used to Know'  earlier and I noticed how hugely different it was from the original Gotye version. it all boils down to vocals in a song.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline packyshingha

  • Netizen Level
  • **
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #864 on: February 21, 2012, 06:06:53 PM »
Well, I just happened to download the iPad Animoog last Dec. which just cost me $0.99 because it was an introductory pricing. The only problem I have right now is midi control of the ipad since it requires an interface that isn't tops on my list right now but I digress.

EQ the synth. kill the mids so that it doesn't interfere with your vox. when it solos, thats the time it goes full spectrum (sort of). also try to use creative panning. for vox, all i can tell you is that you should sound more confident. I was listening to Walk Off the Earth's 'Someone I Used to Know'  earlier and I noticed how hugely different it was from the original Gotye version. it all boils down to vocals in a song.

Thanks Sir.. Very informative.. kaya pala hindi masyado marinig yung vox kasi gawa ng mga mids ko... sige Sir pagAaralan ko din yung panning ng sa vocals.. usually gumagamit lang ako ng panning kapag may backup vocals..

Ang galing ng areglo ng "Walk Off the Earth's 'Someone I Used to Know"

jacobb45

  • Guest
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #865 on: February 22, 2012, 05:34:45 PM »


sir ayan po ba kelangan q?

san po ba ako nakakabili nyan? at anong name nya?

Offline kelen

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #866 on: February 22, 2012, 08:35:25 PM »
sir, ang balak ko gawin is to make my computer part of the effects chain. bale ang gagawin ko ay gagamitin ko yung fast track para mainput ko yung guitar. ang di ko alam ay kung paano yung output from fast track/pc to amp. thanks

 :)

Offline stompnoise

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #867 on: February 22, 2012, 11:49:17 PM »
sir, ang balak ko gawin is to make my computer part of the effects chain. bale ang gagawin ko ay gagamitin ko yung fast track para mainput ko yung guitar. ang di ko alam ay kung paano yung output from fast track/pc to amp. thanks
best way is to use the output from the interface. kung walang out interface mo, I think pwede ung headphone out.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #868 on: February 23, 2012, 10:18:49 AM »
sir, ang balak ko gawin is to make my computer part of the effects chain. bale ang gagawin ko ay gagamitin ko yung fast track para mainput ko yung guitar. ang di ko alam ay kung paano yung output from fast track/pc to amp. thanks

I normally do not recommend this since there are a LOT of things that can go wrong, especially during the recording process, or even during live. For one thing, interfacing with a computer can be notoriously buggy that's why we sometimes take 2 feeds during a guitar recording. One is effected by recording/miking up the amp so that we hear what the guitarist intended, the other is the raw guitar feed (uneffected) so we can add software fx as needed.

The thing about software is latency and I know of some guitarists who get their rhythm thrown off even with just a little latency. Worse case is returning the effected signal back into the mix where the latency can cause phasing if you make the mistake of mixing with the original sound.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline kelen

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #869 on: February 23, 2012, 07:53:35 PM »
for live setting sana. bale kukuha ko ng effects sa pc. I have seen bands using their computers as part of the effects chain. di ko alam kung  may ginagamit silang cable adaptor

Offline kelen

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #870 on: February 23, 2012, 08:08:37 PM »
I'm talking about something like this.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2012, 08:10:33 PM by kelen »

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #871 on: February 24, 2012, 09:41:21 AM »
Yes, I'm aware of these.

Remember that you cannot just put such an interface into your chain because the M-audio's output in this case is line level. Most pedals have instrument level I/O so impedance mismatch is very prevalent is this case. The interface HAS to be the last fx in the chain, and even then, you can't just feed it's output back into a guitar amp. It can work as an insert fx as long as the insert loop uses line level impedances; even then most inserts are mono fx. In some cases, you can use the inserts of digital multifx since these are usually line level.

If the interface is the last in the chain, you have to feed its output to a mixer line input for proper impedance matching. This is so you could monitor the output of your chain. Even then, I've known of problems with routing especially if asio is not supported, although maudio usually has good asio support. Like I previously mentioned, latency will play a big role here, especially when it becomes audible.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline deliciouspapa

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #872 on: February 24, 2012, 03:10:11 PM »
to reinforce what kitc said:  fire up your daw software and turn on input echo for your guitar track.  record your self playing everything you plan to play live while monitoring via headphones.  if you think you can live with the lag,  good for you.

Offline crazyvoice

  • Veteran Member
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #873 on: February 26, 2012, 01:35:27 AM »
hi guys im new here, also I already back read this thread.  :)

First of all my reason to write this is to look what equipment do i need first so i will be able to record my own music. I've read that m audio fast track is a nice thing to start and a Shure mic will do. I want to record my own voice with accompanied acoustic guitar my focus first is to my voice since i believe i can sing well than playing guitar. Any suggestion of other equipment do i needed to perform my recording by the way im on budget let say 3k-5k for the interface, and what particular mic model do i needed and where to buy those things or is it advisable to buy 2nd hand item. Is there any guide posted in this forum for installing the equipment with my pc. Any ideas is well appreciated!  :wave:
MDA Accounting & Management Consultancy
(02) 357-22-16
For your Accounting & Taxation needs.

Offline deliciouspapa

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #874 on: February 26, 2012, 08:35:36 AM »
hi guys im new here, also I already back read this thread.  :)

First of all my reason to write this is to look what equipment do i need first so i will be able to record my own music. I've read that m audio fast track is a nice thing to start and a Shure mic will do. I want to record my own voice with accompanied acoustic guitar my focus first is to my voice since i believe i can sing well than playing guitar. Any suggestion of other equipment do i needed to perform my recording by the way im on budget let say 3k-5k for the interface, and what particular mic model do i needed and where to buy those things or is it advisable to buy 2nd hand item. Is there any guide posted in this forum for installing the equipment with my pc. Any ideas is well appreciated!  :wave:

Get a decent condenser mic for vocals and acoustic stuff.  The Shure SM58 is great for live vocals and the SM57 for mic'ing amps.   

MXL990 and AT2020 are nice entry-level condenser mics.  Be aware that the cheap Behringer and Samson models are not true large diaphragm mics.