hulika

Author Topic: Setting up your PC for Recording  (Read 177103 times)

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #900 on: April 02, 2012, 10:49:56 AM »
Using a 550w corsair true power. While recommendations may say higher, I feel confident with the Corsair since it's been pretty stable for the last couple of years except now. I just cleaned everything; even put new thermal grease on everything with a heatsink on the mobo, but I worry about the ram. Anyway, haven't done any recording on that pc in recent memory so I'm in no rush. Wifey uses it for fb when I'm at work anyway so no biggie.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline xelalien

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #901 on: April 02, 2012, 01:57:38 PM »
question: anyone here tried recording using Linux (via Ardour)?

ot: happy bday sir KitC!

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #902 on: April 02, 2012, 03:28:59 PM »
Thanks, Neil!

I tried with ubuntu dati but it was too much work to configure everything. When time is not an issue, will experiment again.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline deliciouspapa

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #903 on: April 02, 2012, 08:38:02 PM »
question: anyone here tried recording using Linux (via Ardour)?

here.  gui is not as polished, but usable.  you'll be left wanting if you depend on vst stuff. but, otherwise, it's very usable if you have a linux-compatible interface.  i'm running ubuntu 11.10 with an alesis io2 and it works very well for tracking.  not sure if i'd want to master with it, though. 

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #904 on: April 03, 2012, 10:31:33 AM »
Good you got it working. I ran into a brickwall looking for alsa drivers for my 1820m. WINE was no big help either, plus the absolute lack of vst plugin support practically kills most efforts.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire


Offline kuwerdaslapuertas

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #905 on: April 04, 2012, 10:38:30 AM »
mga bossing, lately nag reformat ako ng laptop into Windows 7 Ultimate. Dati ang setup ko lang eh Guitar -> V-AMP2 -> PC connected by a 1/4 stereo plug into the mic jack. Zero latency. Real time monitoring talaga. After ng reformat, biglang nagkaroon ng latency? kulang ba ko ng driver o nagkaproblema yun soundcard ko? I am skeptical purchasing a USB link dahil baka ganun din kung laptop na may problema since gumagana naman dati...

Thanks sa lahat ng sasagot  :-(
Climb in the back with your head in the clouds and you're gone...

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #906 on: April 04, 2012, 10:46:18 AM »
Let me guess... formerly XP with asio4all, now win7ultimate with asio4all din? This is not the first time I've encountered this.

I believe asio4all has not been optimized for win7 WASAPI driver protocols. I think the WDM drivers included in win7 are not as efficient as they were in XP, that's why MS was pushing for their WASAPI protocol. Unfortunately, V-AMP ang gamit mo and Behri is exceedingly poor in making asio drivers for their gear. FYI, asio works very well in win7, even 64-bit.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline kuwerdaslapuertas

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #907 on: April 04, 2012, 11:06:19 AM »
Let me guess... formerly XP with asio4all, now win7ultimate with asio4all din? This is not the first time I've encountered this.

I believe asio4all has not been optimized for win7 WASAPI driver protocols. I think the WDM drivers included in win7 are not as efficient as they were in XP, that's why MS was pushing for their WASAPI protocol. Unfortunately, V-AMP ang gamit mo and Behri is exceedingly poor in making asio drivers for their gear. FYI, asio works very well in win7, even 64-bit.

Actually Sir KitC, windows 7 starter siya before. if I remember it correctly, ASIO4ALL was also installed in my laptop cause it came with my FL9. First time nangyari sakin to and it's very frustrating  :cry: What do I do Sir KitC? Do I need to replace my OS with starter again? It's kinda slow and hindi masyado customizable..
Climb in the back with your head in the clouds and you're gone...

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #908 on: April 04, 2012, 10:50:41 PM »
Are they both 32- or 64-bit? I'm beginning to suspect that it's the 64-bit OS that has problems with WDM/WASAPI latency. Possibly even compatibility of asio4all with win7 is suspect.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline kuwerdaslapuertas

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #909 on: April 05, 2012, 09:22:49 AM »
Correct, sir. It's 64 bit.
Climb in the back with your head in the clouds and you're gone...

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #910 on: April 06, 2012, 12:14:54 PM »
Seems to me you have to rollback to the 32-bit version of win7. Like I said, I've been noticing this with asio4all and 64-bit systems. Worse case is to get an interface with true asio 64-bit support.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline e-guitar

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #911 on: April 11, 2012, 07:52:38 AM »
hi mga sir! ask ko lang po kung san po kaya pwede makabili LOCALLY ng Brand New na Behringer UCG102?
yung ganto:




or ano po kaya mga recording interface na pwede niyo marecommend beside dito na readily available sa Philippine market?? Thanks po!
DEAL REFERENCES: larry.galang, bass13man, mb.la13.

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #912 on: April 11, 2012, 11:46:21 AM »
In-tune

Meron sa Robinsons Galeria.

Offline jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #913 on: April 29, 2012, 08:50:51 PM »
Hi guys,

 Finally, I got myself a toneport ux1 - I just noticed earlier that there's a letency when I'm recording.

Here's the laptops specs:
Intel i3
2gb ram
700gb hdd

And my daw is sonar 8.
Hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks.

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #914 on: April 30, 2012, 09:29:47 AM »
Hi guys,

 Finally, I got myself a toneport ux1 - I just noticed earlier that there's a letency when I'm recording.

Here's the laptops specs:
Intel i3
2gb ram
700gb hdd

And my daw is sonar 8.
Hope to hear from you soon.

Thanks.

Install drivers from asio4all.com and under audio interface choose asio4all.

Offline jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #915 on: April 30, 2012, 09:57:59 AM »
I do have asio installed, the driver that's selected on sonar is wdm/wks. So that's what I'm replacins with the asio right? Thanks.

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #916 on: April 30, 2012, 11:37:16 AM »
I do have asio installed, the driver that's selected on sonar is wdm/wks. So that's what I'm replacins with the asio right? Thanks.

Choose asio instead of wdm.

Offline jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #917 on: May 01, 2012, 01:13:33 PM »
hey sir Skin, you really made my day. Thank you very much for the help. Hehe.


Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #918 on: May 04, 2012, 07:48:40 AM »
Thanks for the assist, skin.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #919 on: June 03, 2012, 01:12:59 PM »
Good day!

Just got my guitar rig 3. But I'm having bad latency while using it.

The audio midi settings is at asio,set on 4400 bit and the output latency is at 54ms.

Can you recommened a good setting for it?
Thank you much.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #920 on: June 04, 2012, 09:07:10 AM »
Jake, latency is more dependent on your audio interface more than anything else. What are you using? If your interface supports asio drivers, use those instead. There is usually a control panel where you can adjust latency; adjust as low as it can go. Remember that your cpu power also determines how much you can minimize latency before audio artifacts become audible.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #921 on: June 04, 2012, 11:28:22 AM »
I'm using a ux1 sir kit.
Before I was using gearbox, pod farm, and amplitube without no latency.

But ill try working on the guitar rig later.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #922 on: June 05, 2012, 10:03:43 AM »
GR3 can be heavy on cpu esp. at low latencies, at least that's what I've noticed with the GR that comes with Sonar. Try to use asio as much as possible. I'm not a big fan of asio4all, but some say it improves latencies esp. when used with winXP.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline haxo55

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #923 on: June 06, 2012, 03:41:14 AM »
Good day sirs, i need an advice kung anong hardwares ang kakaylanganin ko para makapagsetup ako ng
drum mics gusto ko sana yung mamanipulate ko fully kada mic per tom/snare/etc etc,
all i have here nga pala is a laptop with sonar le, bose speakers and a 5 pc drum crash/ride/hats pa lang meron for now.

thanks
Quote from: Philmusic.com
News:
oh yeah, our search engine is powered by Chuck Norris as well


Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #924 on: June 06, 2012, 08:46:24 AM »
Ideally, you will need a good room (not too dead, not too live), top and bottom mics for the snare, a really good kick mic, mics for each tom plus 2 overhead condensers, and an interface that can accept all those mics. If you have the moolah, try to get good condensers for distance miking, maybe even add a yamaha subkick, if you're really serious. (Hey, you said fully)

The most convenient setup is a 4 mic setup with a snare mic, kick mic and 2 overheads. This will allow you to use a 4-mic input interface, which can be a little bit steep compared to most other entry level audio interfaces. The best would be an 8 mic input interface a la the M-audio Fast Track 8R. Add to that the cost of (long) mic cables, and headphones for monitoring/talkback (plus maybe a headphone amp for long cable runs from the interface to recording position).
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire