hulika

Author Topic: Setting up your PC for Recording  (Read 153616 times)

Online jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #950 on: July 13, 2012, 12:33:22 PM »
Thanks sir kit.

Offline 09thfret

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #951 on: July 13, 2012, 07:50:20 PM »
sweet thread  :-D :mrgreen:
Fate is like being raped ,. if you cant fight it ,... Learn to enjoy it ...

Offline janryl0016

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #952 on: July 16, 2012, 03:11:49 AM »
Hi Sir Kit, can i ask you a few question  :-\

i got a Bass Guitar, a Laptop which is a Sony Vaio on 64bit with sub-woofer and speakers. And I do all my bass lessons and bass playing here at home since i don't have a good sounding bass amplifier.

My Setup is Direct Input to the mic using 3.5mm jack.

Well my question is:

Every time that my guitar cable is being touched or because of my playing movements it does make scratchy sound , yes because the 3.5mm jack is not on a stable position, i mean it can be move clockwise or counterclockwise and that's the reason of the scratchy sound,   

well i'm planning to buy Behringer Guitar Link UCG102, pero pareho lang ba if compared to the 3.5mm jack?

* Guitar - Cable - 3.5mm jack - PC
* Guitar - Cable - Guitar Link - PC

gagamitin ko yung guitar link  as a 3.5mm jack (Direct Input) puwede kaya yun?  :?

kasi most of times, plug and play kasi ginagawa ko eh, plug my guitar to PC, tapos play music on Itunes then sasabayan ko nalang. Yung Guitar Link kaya? :oops: although my software na kasama yung G-Link puwede rin kaya Alt+Tab'n yun?  :-(




Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #953 on: July 16, 2012, 07:55:14 AM »
Hi Sir Kit, can i ask you a few question  :-\

i got a Bass Guitar, a Laptop which is a Sony Vaio on 64bit with sub-woofer and speakers. And I do all my bass lessons and bass playing here at home since i don't have a good sounding bass amplifier.

My Setup is Direct Input to the mic using 3.5mm jack.

Well my question is:

Every time that my guitar cable is being touched or because of my playing movements it does make scratchy sound , yes because the 3.5mm jack is not on a stable position, i mean it can be move clockwise or counterclockwise and that's the reason of the scratchy sound,   

well i'm planning to buy Behringer Guitar Link UCG102, pero pareho lang ba if compared to the 3.5mm jack?

* Guitar - Cable - 3.5mm jack - PC
* Guitar - Cable - Guitar Link - PC

gagamitin ko yung guitar link  as a 3.5mm jack (Direct Input) puwede kaya yun?  :?

kasi most of times, plug and play kasi ginagawa ko eh, plug my guitar to PC, tapos play music on Itunes then sasabayan ko nalang. Yung Guitar Link kaya? :oops: although my software na kasama yung G-Link puwede rin kaya Alt+Tab'n yun?  :-(

Naku put a tape on that mic input sa laptop mo.

Get the Behringer Guitar Link.  For your ground issues, try another cable.  Or puede rin yung jack sa bass guitar mo ang may issue.

Offline janryl0016

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #954 on: July 16, 2012, 09:22:54 AM »
Naku put a tape on that mic input sa laptop mo.

Get the Behringer Guitar Link.  For your ground issues, try another cable.  Or puede rin yung jack sa bass guitar mo ang may issue.

di naman ganun ka grabe eh.. mejo loose lang yung adapter.. waiting for sir kit to answer.. good day to us all..


Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #955 on: July 16, 2012, 04:24:08 PM »
di naman ganun ka grabe eh.. mejo loose lang yung adapter.. waiting for sir kit to answer.. good day to us all..

you don't trust my answer?...hehe...

Online jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #956 on: July 16, 2012, 04:33:35 PM »
That's bad.
peace :mrgreen:

Offline janryl0016

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #957 on: July 16, 2012, 10:27:39 PM »
you don't trust my answer?...hehe...

lol :lol:, pacheck ko nalang muna wiring ko.. pero yung behringer ba sir, puwedeng gamitin ba?, or i should say .. diba it comes with a software.. pag clinose ba yung software gagana pa rin ba yung behringer,, di ko nmn magagamit yung mga effects dun masyado eh,... i prefer itunes.. play some music taz sasabay ... puwede kaya?.. hmmmm :-\

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #958 on: July 17, 2012, 10:09:24 AM »
skin is right. never EVER use the mic input unless you know exactly how pc mic inputs work. even then, NEVER EVER use it for recording. just use the damn things for those headset mics.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #959 on: July 17, 2012, 11:50:43 AM »
lol :lol:, pacheck ko nalang muna wiring ko.. pero yung behringer ba sir, puwedeng gamitin ba?, or i should say .. diba it comes with a software.. pag clinose ba yung software gagana pa rin ba yung behringer,, di ko nmn magagamit yung mga effects dun masyado eh,... i prefer itunes.. play some music taz sasabay ... puwede kaya?.. hmmmm :-\

I always use ASIO for my drivers.  What I usually do kung may gusto akong sabayan, naka track na yung music sa DAW ko tapos sabayan ko lang.  Pero outside the DAW, wala na sound.  Sa WDM puede.

Offline janryl0016

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #960 on: July 17, 2012, 04:00:06 PM »
I always use ASIO for my drivers.  What I usually do kung may gusto akong sabayan, naka track na yung music sa DAW ko tapos sabayan ko lang.  Pero outside the DAW, wala na sound.  Sa WDM puede.

ahhhh....pero beside behringer sir, ano pa ba puwedeng gamitin as a DI? tama ba pagkakatanong ko?  :eek:

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #961 on: July 18, 2012, 05:58:05 AM »
ahhhh....pero beside behringer sir, ano pa ba puwedeng gamitin as a DI? tama ba pagkakatanong ko?  :eek:

Puede yung guitar link.

Offline mokie

  • Veteran Member
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #962 on: July 18, 2012, 09:01:55 AM »
mga sir, ask ko lang at sana masagot.   :-D

ok lang ba kung hindi naka Texas Instruments Chipset yung Firewire IEEE 1394 add on card yung bibilhin ko for my presonus firestudio project?sa pc ko po ikakabit. thanks!

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #963 on: July 18, 2012, 12:07:52 PM »
ok lang ba kung hindi naka Texas Instruments Chipset yung Firewire IEEE 1394 add on card yung bibilhin ko for my presonus firestudio project?sa pc ko po ikakabit. thanks!

TI chipsets are the most recommended for firewire audio but others have had varying degrees of success with other chips. If it works for you, then good, but if it doesn't, make sure you can replace the card if needed.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #964 on: July 18, 2012, 12:19:23 PM »
lol :lol:, pacheck ko nalang muna wiring ko.. pero yung behringer ba sir, puwedeng gamitin ba?, or i should say .. diba it comes with a software.. pag clinose ba yung software gagana pa rin ba yung behringer,, di ko nmn magagamit yung mga effects dun masyado eh,...

Depends on how you configure your system.

On mine, for ex., I can keep onboard sound enabled but playing only media players such as itunes, vlc and other, but my music apps access my audio soundcard exclusively. I can play audio through both systems simultaneously ( I once had 3 separate audio cards on top of my onboard sound working at one time); and my audio interface (Emu 1820m) allows me to play asio and wdm simultaneously! How many systems can do that?  :-D

On winxp, you can set things up so that your audio interface is not mapped through the windows system so that windows sounds do not access the audio card. In win7, the equivalent is granting applications exclusive control over the device.

The only caveat is that you will need a way to route audio from the motherboard and interface into your monitoring system. One way is to use the mobo's digital output and route that into your interface's digital input if it has one. The only caveat is that samplerate is dictated by the mobo output so you might have to sync to an inferior clock. If you have a mixer or some other form of monitor matrix controller, you can route several audio sources into a single monitoring system.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline janryl0016

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #965 on: July 18, 2012, 07:07:47 PM »
Puede yung guitar link.

ui puwede pala, search search muna ko for more reviews, Thanks sir Skin! :wave:

Offline mokie

  • Veteran Member
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #966 on: July 18, 2012, 07:12:43 PM »

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #967 on: July 19, 2012, 08:31:56 AM »
hi mga sir, ask ko lang kung pwede ba to magwork para sa desktop? http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000I20QSQ/ref=asc_df_B000I20QSQ2101654?smid=A1QGIDACEIIO9M&tag=nextagusmp0359847-20&linkCode=asn&creative=395105&creativeASIN=B000I20QSQ

maraming salamat!

Why would you want a PCMCIA card on your desktop?  Why not buy a PCI card with a Firewire interface.  It's more logical.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #968 on: July 19, 2012, 09:38:01 AM »
skin is right although I've encountered instances where the audio interface itself was a pcmcia/expresscard and for portability between desktop and laptop, a pci-to-pc card adapter was used for the desktop.

a simple firewire card is better for the desktop since it lessens complexity with your system. just make sure you get the right port since FW400 and FW800 are worlds apart.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline alittleless16

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #969 on: July 19, 2012, 06:09:29 PM »
bale ano pinaka magandang(mura na din) alternative sa 3.5mm jack?

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #970 on: July 20, 2012, 01:26:59 AM »
bale ano pinaka magandang(mura na din) alternative sa 3.5mm jack?

Ano ang mura sa iyo?  Behringer Guitar Link costs around 2K.  M-Audio Fast Track or Line6 UX1 costs around 5K.

But these are 1/4th plug inputs.  If you are using a desktop and you want a really cheap alternative, look for an SBlive soundcard.  It has a 1/8th line-in input.  Costs around 500 or less 2nd hand.

Offline alittleless16

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #971 on: July 20, 2012, 03:09:22 PM »
Ano ang mura sa iyo?  Behringer Guitar Link costs around 2K.  M-Audio Fast Track or Line6 UX1 costs around 5K.

But these are 1/4th plug inputs.  If you are using a desktop and you want a really cheap alternative, look for an SBlive soundcard.  It has a 1/8th line-in input.  Costs around 500 or less 2nd hand.

thank you sir! 500 is actually good. Tried to take care of the latency with the ASIO4ALL kaso wala din e.

Offline secretavenger234

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #972 on: July 25, 2012, 10:47:11 AM »
Hey guys. Just wanna ask what specs of pc would be perfect for home recording?

I got plenty of options like this MSI Wind Top Ae2210 ...

CPU   
Intel ® Core i3 2120 (3.3GHz)

OS   
Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64 bit

Chipset   
Intel H61

Memory   
4GB DDR3

Graphics   
1.Integrated Intel® HD Graphics 2000

Panel Resolution   
21.5” 1920 x 1080, Full-HD

Touch Panel   
Multi Touch (Optional)

HDD   1TB
Optical Drive   
Tray-in DVD Super Multi

Audio   
  THX TRUSTUDIO PRO™

LAN   
10/100/1000

Wireless LAN   
802.11 b/g/n WiFi

Bluetooth   N/A
USB 3.0 port   
2 (1 Port with Super Charger)

USB 2.0 port   
4

Card Reader   YES
eSATA   N/A

TV Tuner   
Mini PCI-E interface (Optional)

Expansion Slot   
Mini-PCI-E slots x 2

HDMI in   N/A
HDMI out   
1

VGA in   N/A
VGA out   N/A
DVI-out   N/A
COM Port   N/A
Mic-in/Headphone-out   
1/1


AC Adapter   
120W / 150W


Will this do??


Online jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #973 on: July 25, 2012, 10:57:16 AM »
Yup it should work. Not unless you are planning to record massive tracks.

You can always check your daw's requirements, once you hace it, its much better you can get 2 step higher so you'll have plenty of room for adjustments.

Happy recording!:)

Offline secretavenger234

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #974 on: July 25, 2012, 11:58:54 AM »
Yup it should work. Not unless you are planning to record massive tracks.

You can always check your daw's requirements, once you hace it, its much better you can get 2 step higher so you'll have plenty of room for adjustments.

Happy recording!:)

What's daw? :p  This thing is only for guitars and bass tracks recording... And drum tracks (For Mixing only)
Will it do? Coupled with Protool and M-audio or presonus interface??