hulika

Author Topic: Setting up your PC for Recording  (Read 154923 times)

Offline crazyvoice

  • Veteran Member
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1025 on: October 08, 2012, 08:42:56 PM »
I've tried both, pag sa mic marecognize lang yung input & output pag Direct X but pag ASIO meron inpit but walang output. Same scenario when plugged sa Line-IN
MDA Accounting & Management Consultancy
(02) 357-22-16
For your Accounting & Taxation needs.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1026 on: October 10, 2012, 09:39:31 AM »
So now here's my problem, when normally plug in then just listen without amplitube, clear naman yung tunog ng guitar thru speaker kaso medyo mahina lang kaso yung output, but when amplitube is running and apply some sort of pre load set up, dun na medyo annoying yung sound na lumalabas sa speaker.

That is what you get for using mic in. Acoustic guitars can have different types of pickups from passive to active, but most will require some sort of preamp. Get a good preamp and attach its outputs to the LINE IN instead.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline dr.distance

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1027 on: October 13, 2012, 11:00:01 PM »
Hi, I just want to ask a quick question.

I have a Zoom G2.1u I use as an audio interface for recording guitars, and while it does have built-in effects, lets say I want to use Amplitube so I can have more control over my sound in post. Should I still use effects on the pedal like EQ/Cabinet sim to tweak the sound before it goes to the PC or do I turn all effects off?

Thanks :,D

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1028 on: October 13, 2012, 11:37:46 PM »
Hi, I just want to ask a quick question.

I have a Zoom G2.1u I use as an audio interface for recording guitars, and while it does have built-in effects, lets say I want to use Amplitube so I can have more control over my sound in post. Should I still use effects on the pedal like EQ/Cabinet sim to tweak the sound before it goes to the PC or do I turn all effects off?

Thanks :,D

Any would do since may cabinets din ang Amplitube.  I prefer to record raw.

Offline mrslow96

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1029 on: October 23, 2012, 11:52:45 PM »
Hi mga fellow philmusician, may balak po kami ng erpats ko gumawa ng recording studio dito sa bahay. gusto ko lang po mag tanong ano po mga kailangan sa pag gawa ng home studio? nag tanong tanong ako dito saamin, di masyadong detalyado. salamat sir sa mga mag reply. At magkano po kaya aabutin?


Offline ROCKOUST

  • Philmusicus Noobitus
  • *
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Soround 5.1 PRO
« Reply #1030 on: October 24, 2012, 06:36:43 PM »
   Sir KIt,
             Ano po ba pwde alternative na paraan para ma install ko,Creative Soundblaster X-FI Soround 5.1 PRO
             sa lappy ko,di  kasi compatible sa processor ko na,Intel (R)Pentium(R) Dual
             CPU T2390 @1.86GHz 32-bit Win7 OS,instead na  Intel Core™2 Duo processor 2.2 GHz, AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core or                           
             equivalent processor,,minimum, system requirments,,,give me some advice,,tnx po!

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Creative Soundblaster X-FI Soround 5.1 PRO
« Reply #1031 on: October 24, 2012, 07:32:19 PM »
   Sir KIt,
             Ano po ba pwde alternative na paraan para ma install ko,Creative Soundblaster X-FI Soround 5.1 PRO
             sa lappy ko,di  kasi compatible sa processor ko na,Intel (R)Pentium(R) Dual
             CPU T2390 @1.86GHz 32-bit Win7 OS,instead na  Intel Core™2 Duo processor 2.2 GHz, AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core or                           
             equivalent processor,,minimum, system requirments,,,give me some advice,,tnx po!

Did you even try installing it?  Here are the drivers.
http://support.creative.com/Products/ProductDetails.aspx?catID=1&CatName=sound+blaster&subCatID=208&subCatName=X-Fi&prodID=14066&prodName=X-Fi+XtremeMusic

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1032 on: October 26, 2012, 10:59:20 AM »
I've never known Soundblasters to be incompatible with anything (even macs!).

Install it first using the recommended drivers:

http://support.creative.com/Products/ProductDetails.aspx?catID=209&CatName=X-Fi&subCatID=208&subCatName=X-Fi&prodID=17751&prodName=X-Fi+Surround+5.1

And if that doesn't work, you can try the drivers in the link skin provided.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline CCConfusion

  • Netizen Level
  • **
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1033 on: November 01, 2012, 05:15:40 PM »
Hi Sir Kit. I wanted to use my Roland e09 as a midi controller for MiXcraft. The e09 has midi in out sockets but havent decided yet what midi cable to use. Can u suggest any midi in/out to usb cable that is compatible for this setup? Also will instill need a driver or installer for either the keyboard or midi cable? Thanks in advance.

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1034 on: November 01, 2012, 06:17:43 PM »
Hi Sir Kit. I wanted to use my Roland e09 as a midi controller for MiXcraft. The e09 has midi in out sockets but havent decided yet what midi cable to use. Can u suggest any midi in/out to usb cable that is compatible for this setup? Also will instill need a driver or installer for either the keyboard or midi cable? Thanks in advance.

Get the M-Audio or Yamaha usb midi cable.  Even the generic ones are compatible.  No drivers needed.  It's plug and play.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1035 on: November 03, 2012, 12:27:16 AM »
What skin says. Generics can do but get short ones (about a meter will do). Cheap cables are notorious for having poor shielding. Look around also in stores like Ace Hardware in their electronics section... minsan may naliligaw dun na midi cable. weirdest place I saw was Concorde - yes, the auto accessories store. go figure.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline bishophunks

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1036 on: November 08, 2012, 06:04:13 PM »
Mga Sir newbie po here and lalo na po sa recording...

balak ko din po mag record using my pc , mic and acoustic guitar lang po muna, ano po bang need para makapagsetup ng maganda at mura..

my specs are :
intel dualcore 3.0ghz
Memory : 4gb
videocard : 1gb gf210

newbie pa lang po talaga ako sa ganito setup even mga softwares,speakers,mics and amp i have no idea. kaya balak ko po muna sa is sa pc muna. gusto ko po sana songs like eh parang ganito po.. pero mukhang mahal po ito pero kung magka itsura lang...

feature=related

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1037 on: November 13, 2012, 11:49:14 AM »
Sorry if I haven't replied soon enough.

The pc specs aren't specific enough for me to say if it's ok. Just having a dual core will not guarantee success if I don't know the rest of the peripherals. My gut tells me you have only one hard drive. Conventional wisdom suggests having 2 drives for audio; one for the system and the other for data.

What is your operating system? vista? Win7? Win8? XP? This will determine what you can or cannot run. The video card  and cpu suggests a 4 or 5 yr old computer but this is inconsequential since you don't need powerful video for audio anyway.

While you can use onboard audio, you will probably need to add some preamps and mics since you will be recording acoustic guitar. Furthermore, how many tracks will you simultaneously record? Anything greater than 2 will require you to get a multi input audio interface. In the youtube you linked, that is easily a 3 mic setup.

As for software, try Reaper. It's very affordable and full functioned even in 'demo' mode as long as you don't mind the nags.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline bishophunks

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1038 on: November 14, 2012, 09:17:58 AM »
Sorry if I haven't replied soon enough.

The pc specs aren't specific enough for me to say if it's ok. Just having a dual core will not guarantee success if I don't know the rest of the peripherals. My gut tells me you have only one hard drive. Conventional wisdom suggests having 2 drives for audio; one for the system and the other for data.

What is your operating system? vista? Win7? Win8? XP? This will determine what you can or cannot run. The video card  and cpu suggests a 4 or 5 yr old computer but this is inconsequential since you don't need powerful video for audio anyway.

While you can use onboard audio, you will probably need to add some preamps and mics since you will be recording acoustic guitar. Furthermore, how many tracks will you simultaneously record? Anything greater than 2 will require you to get a multi input audio interface. In the youtube you linked, that is easily a 3 mic setup.

As for software, try Reaper. It's very affordable and full functioned even in 'demo' mode as long as you don't mind the nags.

im using windows 7. baka meron po kayo ma suggest sakin na pinaka cheap at good quality ng preamp and cheapest multi input audio interface... meron din po kasi ako amplifier  na sa tatay ko pa un nung nabubuhay voxen dolby 5.1 pro logic pero di ako marunung magtimpla at meron pa yta need ipagawa dun, at 2 speaker na 200w and 2 tweeter, kaso hindi din ako marunung magsetup ng nice song, ginagamit lang kasi po namin un kapag watch ng movies.

anyway ano po bang mag ma susuggest nyo po para sakin at kung san po ako makakamura at good quality, ipagawa ung ampli namin or buy nalang po ng preamp na mura? ung mga interface po sa cdrking maganda clase na po ba un kung gagayahin ko ung nsa youtube?

Sir maraming salamat po laking help po ito para sakin lalo na mga newbie na tulad ko po.. its my pleasure na nagreply po kayo sa aking questions. :))

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1039 on: November 14, 2012, 10:07:54 AM »
Quote
im using windows 7. baka meron po kayo ma suggest sakin na pinaka cheap at good quality ng preamp and cheapest multi input audio interface... meron din po kasi ako amplifier  na sa tatay ko pa un nung nabubuhay voxen dolby 5.1 pro logic pero di ako marunung magtimpla at meron pa yta need ipagawa dun, at 2 speaker na 200w and 2 tweeter, kaso hindi din ako marunung magsetup ng nice song, ginagamit lang kasi po namin un kapag watch ng movies.

anyway ano po bang mag ma susuggest nyo po para sakin at kung san po ako makakamura at good quality, ipagawa ung ampli namin or buy nalang po ng preamp na mura? ung mga interface po sa cdrking maganda clase na po ba un kung gagayahin ko ung nsa youtube?

Sir maraming salamat po laking help po ito para sakin lalo na mga newbie na tulad ko po.. its my pleasure na nagreply po kayo sa aking questions. )

What do you play?  Define cheap.  Avoid CDRKING!

Offline bishophunks

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1040 on: November 14, 2012, 10:15:18 AM »
What do you play?  Define cheap.  Avoid CDRKING!

Okies Avoid CDRKING. magkano po ba ung rate ng pinaka mura at good quality na multi input audio interface/preamp and speakers kasi ganito po sana parang ganito setup.
feature=related pero syempre ung mura lang po at maappriciate ung outcome. :) medyo baguhan at low budget po kasi.

Salamat po sa mabilisang reply. :)

Offline Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1041 on: November 14, 2012, 11:00:37 AM »
Bro kunin mo na yung Line6 UX1 sa classifieds ayus na yun!

Offline bishophunks

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1042 on: November 14, 2012, 11:07:12 AM »
Bro kunin mo na yung Line6 UX1 sa classifieds ayus na yun!

Pang Pro na po yata un at medyo mahal pa siya eh.

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1043 on: November 14, 2012, 11:23:04 AM »
Okies Avoid CDRKING. magkano po ba ung rate ng pinaka mura at good quality na multi input audio interface/preamp and speakers kasi ganito po sana parang ganito setup.
feature=related pero syempre ung mura lang po at maappriciate ung outcome. :) medyo baguhan at low budget po kasi.

Salamat po sa mabilisang reply. :)

Based on the video you would be needing a mixer or multitrack audio interface.  Gusto mo ba multitrack recording in which on the video you'll be needing 3 inputs and you can edit these tracks on post production, or stereo lang input sa computer?

Offline bishophunks

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1044 on: November 14, 2012, 11:31:10 AM »
Based on the video you would be needing a mixer or multitrack audio interface.  Gusto mo ba multitrack recording in which on the video you'll be needing 3 inputs and you can edit these tracks on post production, or stereo lang input sa computer?

yung stereo input sa computer lng po muna tpos much better kung magagamit din sa recording sa loob lng bahay. hihi!

Offline crazyvoice

  • Veteran Member
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1045 on: November 14, 2012, 11:56:39 AM »
Not sure if this is the right thread for this but,  will just try

Anyone who has use Amplitube as actual effects in a Gig? Stable ba siya? Recently ginagamit ko siya for my Acoustic Guitar and surprisingly it works like wonder and sound like an actual E.guitar The only Problem I have is the Buzzing sound even I don't strum which is latency I believe.

My set up is Acoustic > Line-In( On Board Sound Card w/ ASIO4ALL- Desktop)> Then 5.1 Speaker sometimes sa Laney Amp ko. Will buying a Cheap USB Interface can do something?

By the way since I've enjoying this software I planning to install it to my Itouch and try if kaya niya kahit sa casual Jam lang or mas ok yung output niya using my Itouch.
MDA Accounting & Management Consultancy
(02) 357-22-16
For your Accounting & Taxation needs.

Offline Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1046 on: November 14, 2012, 12:51:10 PM »
Pang Pro na po yata un at medyo mahal pa siya eh.

Yan yung pinakabasic na audio interface ng Line6 bro wala nang masmumura pa dun. Kung gusto mo masmura pa try mo Behringer UCA202 pero bitin na yun.


Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1047 on: November 14, 2012, 03:16:30 PM »
@crazyvoice _ I suggest creating your own thread as it will garner more specific responses tailored for live use of plugins. This sticky is more generalized towards computer recording.

@bishophunks - for stereo input, get a mixer. This means you will be working off the stereo feed of the mixer which in turn means less flexibility during recording. It's very difficult to overdub to a stereo mix. You may not need the UCA since most computer line inputs can accept the line level out of the mixer. One more thing, when recording a stereo mix, the performance has to be right on first take or you have to re-do everything from the top. Like I said, you cannot overdub to a stereo mix. A multi-input interface would be better but more expensive. The Line6 is ok for single electric guitar and mic combination. To use 2 mics, you will need an additional preamp.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1048 on: November 15, 2012, 07:17:34 PM »
@crazyvoice _ I suggest creating your own thread as it will garner more specific responses tailored for live use of plugins. This sticky is more generalized towards computer recording.

@bishophunks - for stereo input, get a mixer. This means you will be working off the stereo feed of the mixer which in turn means less flexibility during recording. It's very difficult to overdub to a stereo mix. You may not need the UCA since most computer line inputs can accept the line level out of the mixer. One more thing, when recording a stereo mix, the performance has to be right on first take or you have to re-do everything from the top. Like I said, you cannot overdub to a stereo mix. A multi-input interface would be better but more expensive. The Line6 is ok for single electric guitar and mic combination. To use 2 mics, you will need an additional preamp.
+1

Not sure if this is the right thread for this but,  will just try

Anyone who has use Amplitube as actual effects in a Gig? Stable ba siya? Recently ginagamit ko siya for my Acoustic Guitar and surprisingly it works like wonder and sound like an actual E.guitar The only Problem I have is the Buzzing sound even I don't strum which is latency I believe.

My set up is Acoustic > Line-In( On Board Sound Card w/ ASIO4ALL- Desktop)> Then 5.1 Speaker sometimes sa Laney Amp ko. Will buying a Cheap USB Interface can do something?

By the way since I've enjoying this software I planning to install it to my Itouch and try if kaya niya kahit sa casual Jam lang or mas ok yung output niya using my Itouch.

Ang alam ko bro may thread na ganito sa Guitar Central buhayin mo na!! :-D

Offline 123kidd

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1049 on: November 16, 2012, 07:36:33 PM »
Hello! good day sa lahat! Pa- advice naman mga sir! Im planning to buy new computer set up, im thinking to buy amd 8core, pero napapaisip ako kung ok ba ba to sa recording? or intel i5? medyo mura kase amd kaso natatakot ako baka di tumagal, pa advice naman sir kung anong magandang set up, sa tamang budget lang,

Salamat po ng madami! God bless!