hulika

Author Topic: Setting up your PC for Recording  (Read 149404 times)

Offline albumin

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1100 on: February 24, 2013, 01:24:44 PM »
edited
« Last Edit: April 09, 2013, 06:10:49 PM by albumin »
Ibanez GRGA11 - Buskers Tele - Vox Pathfinder 15R - Maxon GX10

Offline zushikikato

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1101 on: February 24, 2013, 03:43:11 PM »
Hello,

I am using an HP450 laptop. It has 3 USB ports, HDMI port a headset in and a mic in port.

Thanks!
The fighting is worth the love they'll save.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1102 on: February 24, 2013, 06:42:14 PM »
i'm planning to buy a cpu package with

- intel core i5
- biostar h61m mobo

The biostar I'm not so hot on. I normally recommend Gigabyte and Asus at this time, leaning more on the former. Formerly a contented MSI user until I started getting QC issues (bloated caps). Biostar is not known for being a solid DAW performer... Epox does quite well in some occasions, but look for reports on bloated caps with your preferred mobos.

Set aside some extra budget for a good audio interface. No CDR King please.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2013, 06:45:47 PM by KitC »
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1103 on: February 24, 2013, 06:44:23 PM »
I am using an HP450 laptop. It has 3 USB ports, HDMI port a headset in and a mic in port.

As long as this is not the Celeron powered version, it can do the job.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline zushikikato

  • Regular Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1104 on: February 24, 2013, 07:01:03 PM »
i5, 8gb RAM with Radeon Graphics.

How can I do it? What are the things that I need to get it done?
The fighting is worth the love they'll save.


Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1105 on: February 24, 2013, 07:53:34 PM »
Is it possible than we can help other musicians by remotely accessing their desktops or laptops if there's configurations that needs to be adjusted, like in DAW's, etc.


We can use showmypc.com to remotely access the pc and we can communicate with notepad too.

I'm thinking that this is somehow a good way of fixing stuff that needs pro help.

Like me, I'm having issues with guitar rig that trying all the things google told me won't apply.

Any thoughts? Let's use our resources and help one another.

I have helped a lot of musicians doing DAW configurations.  I use Teamviewer.

Offline samuelfianza

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1106 on: February 24, 2013, 10:52:23 PM »
Hey peeps,

Can I use a USB MIDI Controller (eying for M-Audio Axiom) simultaneously with an Audio Interface (Presonus Audiobox) ???
STATUA - Experimental Music http://statuaph.bandcamp.com/
DISPERSE MEDIA - Audio Production / Recording http://disperse.media
Random music ideas http://soundcloud.com/sammol

Offline albumin

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1107 on: February 25, 2013, 10:09:06 AM »
The biostar I'm not so hot on. I normally recommend Gigabyte and Asus at this time, leaning more on the former. Formerly a contented MSI user until I started getting QC issues (bloated caps). Biostar is not known for being a solid DAW performer... Epox does quite well in some occasions, but look for reports on bloated caps with your preferred mobos.

Set aside some extra budget for a good audio interface. No CDR King please.

will take note of this. yes. will not buy those cheap cdr-kings.. i want to start and do it right that's why as much as possible, i'll buy the best with what i have. i get what i pay for. id rather pay more and be satisfied than being complete but unsatisfied.

thanks sir KitC!
Ibanez GRGA11 - Buskers Tele - Vox Pathfinder 15R - Maxon GX10

Offline skin

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1108 on: February 25, 2013, 08:53:21 PM »
Hey peeps,

Can I use a USB MIDI Controller (eying for M-Audio Axiom) simultaneously with an Audio Interface (Presonus Audiobox) ???

Yes.


Offline darksyde_brianne

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1110 on: March 21, 2013, 08:30:30 AM »
question po..
wala pa kasi ako background in pc recording..
pero gustu ko magrecord..
as of now meron akong cpu with :
ASUS M2N68-AM motherboard
Amd Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor 4200+ 2.21 Ghz
1Gb RAM
Win 7..
no soundcard..
no videocard..

anu po kaya kailangan ko upgrade sa CPU to do decent recording. ?

i have ibanez rg350dxz.
peavey rage258..
zoom G9.2tt..

di kasi ako palagi Online kaya dko mabasa lahat messages and tips dito..
thanx...

Online jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1111 on: March 21, 2013, 09:21:57 AM »
question po..
wala pa kasi ako background in pc recording..
pero gustu ko magrecord..
as of now meron akong cpu with :
ASUS M2N68-AM motherboard
Amd Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor 4200+ 2.21 Ghz
1Gb RAM
Win 7..
no soundcard..
no videocard..

anu po kaya kailangan ko upgrade sa CPU to do decent recording. ?

i have ibanez rg350dxz.
peavey rage258..
zoom G9.2tt..

di kasi ako palagi Online kaya dko mabasa lahat messages and tips dito..
thanx...

Maybe if you take time to read, your questions will be answered.

That's the best advise I can give.

Offline darksyde_brianne

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1112 on: March 21, 2013, 10:04:22 AM »
Maybe if you take time to read, your questions will be answered.

That's the best advise I can give.





wow.
thanx anyway.

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1113 on: March 21, 2013, 10:33:22 AM »
@darksyde_brianne - you already have a zoom g9.2tt. Unless you will be recording vocals, you already have an interface. It even comes with Cubase LE. Your pc is capable enough for recording.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Offline Tarkuz Toccata

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1114 on: March 21, 2013, 07:58:54 PM »
Here's a very portable USB Guitar Interface.

Video >>
The common saying that the ears are the ultimate judge in music production? To some extent they certainly are, but as we are now aware, they can also be fooled extremely easily. -- "How The Ear Works" (2011) by Emmanuel Deruty

Offline chocotech27

  • Netizen Level
  • **
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1115 on: March 21, 2013, 10:16:07 PM »
Mga sir tanong ko lang kung oks ba gamitin yung audio interface ng cdr king. Low badget lang kasi kung hindi ano maganda audio interface na pasok sa budget..

 Thanks mga bro

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1116 on: March 22, 2013, 06:25:36 AM »
Mga sir tanong ko lang kung oks ba gamitin yung audio interface ng cdr king. Low badget lang kasi kung hindi ano maganda audio interface na pasok sa budget..

 Thanks mga bro

Kung low budget bro, try mo Behringer UCA

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1117 on: March 22, 2013, 09:58:24 AM »
The Xport in Tarkuz's link is a good choice plus it has asio support. Another low budget usb soundcard is Asus Xonar U3 although it doesn't have native asio support meaning you will have to use asio4all.

If all you want is audio playback, then get the cdrking. It's no good for recording; questionable build quality and poor drivers not intended for low latency recording. Maybe for podcasts pwede.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Online Xelly

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1118 on: March 22, 2013, 11:28:28 AM »
Here's a very portable USB Guitar Interface.

Video >>

Available din sa Aphile?

Offline Tarkuz Toccata

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1119 on: March 22, 2013, 03:04:08 PM »
Oo, available sa Audiophile.
The common saying that the ears are the ultimate judge in music production? To some extent they certainly are, but as we are now aware, they can also be fooled extremely easily. -- "How The Ear Works" (2011) by Emmanuel Deruty

Offline darksyde_brianne

  • Senior Member
  • ***
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1120 on: March 28, 2013, 11:43:15 AM »
@darksyde_brianne - you already have a zoom g9.2tt. Unless you will be recording vocals, you already have an interface. It even comes with Cubase LE. Your pc is capable enough for recording.



ahhhh..
ok sir salamat...
sa mga nabasa ko kasi dito sa unang pages,
parang ang tataas nang requirements na binibigay nyo na suggestion..
di ko kc alam kung capable ang pc ko kc luma na and built in lang soundcard..
tska may mga nababasa pko dati about latency...

ung unang nagreply kasi sakin parang ang taray..
 :cool:

thanx sa reply sir...

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1121 on: March 28, 2013, 01:59:13 PM »
I started recording witn a Pentium MMX that had a speed of 166 MHz!  :-D

It's true na mataas ang requirements lalo pa kapag powerful ang software mo. Try to work muna with what you have. In time, you will see what you need. Let me know if you can record successfully with your gear.
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire

Online jake z

  • Forum Fanatic
  • ****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1122 on: March 28, 2013, 07:00:48 PM »


ahhhh..
ok sir salamat...
sa mga nabasa ko kasi dito sa unang pages,
parang ang tataas nang requirements na binibigay nyo na suggestion..
di ko kc alam kung capable ang pc ko kc luma na and built in lang soundcard..
tska may mga nababasa pko dati about latency...

ung unang nagreply kasi sakin parang ang taray..
 :cool:

thanx sa reply sir...

No offense meant bro.
Just based my reply from your post.

Anyways, sir kit is right.

When I started recording, using a creative sound blaster bundle with P4 with 2gb ram. It can operate the DAW's basic functions.

BUT, when I started to add VST. BOOM!
CPU Usage went to 100% and the audio drops when played back.

But since you have a multi fx already, I don't think you will be using that much vst's.


Offline jamming_papu

  • Philmusicus Addictus
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1123 on: March 28, 2013, 07:11:37 PM »
question po..
wala pa kasi ako background in pc recording..
pero gustu ko magrecord..
as of now meron akong cpu with :
ASUS M2N68-AM motherboard
Amd Athlon 64 X2 Dual core processor 4200+ 2.21 Ghz
1Gb RAM
Win 7..
no soundcard..
no videocard..


when I started recording in 2007, my pc specs in terms of computing power back then were just like this. and I made a couple of songs that has 2-8 tracks and everything seems to work well. so to answer the question, interface na lang at dagdag sa RAM and this one is already good. keep in my mind that pc specs has to meet the requirements of which DAW you are going to use. also, I always suggest to get a good reference speaker. I still use my old Samson Resolv for recording at ayun na lang ang natitira sa first recording setup ko after years of upgrades.
“Man, you don't have to play a whole lot of notes. You just have to play the pretty ones.”
- Miles Davis
 http://soundcloud.com/jammingpapu

Offline KitC

  • Prime Moderator
  • *****
Re: Setting up your PC for Recording
« Reply #1124 on: March 28, 2013, 10:05:00 PM »
when I started recording in 2007, my pc specs in terms of computing power back then were just like this. and I made a couple of songs that has 2-8 tracks and everything seems to work well. so to answer the question, interface na lang at dagdag sa RAM and this one is already good. keep in my mind that pc specs has to meet the requirements of which DAW you are going to use. also, I always suggest to get a good reference speaker. I still use my old Samson Resolv for recording at ayun na lang ang natitira sa first recording setup ko after years of upgrades.

+1 with the above but remember, RAM is relative to your OS and your requirements. 2 gig is just about the minimum nowadays. With XP, pwede na yan but I felt better at 4 gig even though only a max of 3.2 gig is usable with that OS.

With win7 and win8, 4 gig is just about the minimum. You can survive at at 2 gigs but some applications may run slowly (photoshop comes to mind). If using 64-bit versions, 4 gig minimum is a must. 64-bit is useful if you require more than 4 gigs ram access. Other than that, 32-bit is fine for most uses, especially with vsts that haven't been ported to 64-bit.

Btw, ram has no bearing on cpu speed, but performance can be increased if your ram is running at dual channel, triple channel, or even quad channel mode. It's important that all sticks be matched in this case. Isa pa, your hard drive also has a bearing on overall performance. It's one reason why laptops tend to have less track counts unless their drives are 7200 rpm, which affects battery life naman.

So many variables.

And another plus on having good monitoring. No point in mixing if you can't hear it right. The only secret is that you should KNOW your speakers. It doesn't matter if they're plain component speakers or very expensive monitors, what matters is that your mixes translate well to other systems.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2013, 10:07:44 PM by KitC »
Sonar 4.04PE/5.2PE/7.02PE/8.31 PE, Project 5 v2.5.1, EmulatorX 1.5, Cubase SL2, Ableton Live 7.14,  Intel Q6600 MSI P43 Neo 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800, Emu 1820m, Yamaha DSP Factory, Terratec DMX 6fire