hulika

Author Topic: what jazz artists would you guys recomend to a kid like me?  (Read 7576 times)

Offline bea_rox

• Philmusicus Addictus
what jazz artists would you guys recomend to a kid like me?
« on: January 31, 2007, 08:53:23 PM »
ok, i admit. im a jazz noob. i suck at jazz. i can hardly play jazz and i only know a few artists. i usually listen to "basic" jazz like benny goodman for swing/bigband jazz,scott joplin for ragtime, weather report for jazz rock,  antonio carlos jobim for bossa nova,thelonius monk for bebop, you get the point.  i really want to get to know jazz more and eventually get into the "deeper cuts" of jazz not just the "basics". which is hard for a kid like me because kids this generation dont really get exposed to jazz compares to pop or rock.but im really,really interested in jazz.  being 15 does have its disadvantages...  :-D
« Last Edit: January 31, 2007, 08:55:12 PM by bea_rox »
Med student. Bassist. Jazz fan.

View my youtube videos at http://www.youtube.com/user/beabass

Offline frogfunk

• Philmusicus Addictus
Re: what jazz artists would you guys recomend to a kid like me?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2007, 09:02:18 PM »
Sis, marami talaga e. You don't just appreciate the bass player in jazz kasi e. You need to appreciate everything about it, the music itself.

Try mo siguro Bill Evans, Sonny Rollins, Art Tatum, John Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Miles Davis, Bud Powell, Thelonious Monk, Charlie Christian, Charles Mingus, Charlie Parker to name a few.

Sa free jazz? Madami din e. John Zorn, I think. Fusion? Allan Holdsworth, John McLaughlin, Mahavishnu Orchestra, Jonas Hellborg. Singit ko na rin siguro si Wes Montgomery, Pat Metheny, Russ Freeman. Dami e.  :-D
"Competition is for horses, not artists." - Bela Bartok

"I don’t like to look back, because the whole point in jazz is doing it now." - Scott LaFaro

Offline Deacon Blues

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2007, 09:15:26 PM »