hulika

Author Topic: Electricuting Electric Guitar???  (Read 1529 times)

Offline zerochanceoutshined

• Philmusicus Noobitus
Electricuting Electric Guitar???
« on: September 03, 2006, 01:14:28 PM »
hey everyone... I play a little bit of guitar.. not that good. but whenever i plug in with an electric guitar, i often get mild but still uncomfortable and shocking electric grounds. Like little surges of elecrticity coming from the guitar and amp. At first I thought it's because I play an RJ telecaster imitation but when I borrow this jam studio's squier or fender i still get grounded so its definitly not the RJ guitar.. and i feel the ground through my right arm sometimes all the way to my chest, spine and neck... makes it hard to breathe at times and play guitar and i'm a vocalist/ guitarist... well aspiring vocalist anyway...
does anyone else have this problem?
Jeez the ONE thing I wanna do is play music and I have this goddamn biological ground problem... hehe its funny but at the same time it pisses me off... my damn luck
there wouldn't happen to be a medical experet / guitar expert here, would there hahaha
HELP!!!

Offline abyssinianson

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2006, 01:50:12 PM »
make sure the power strip you are plugged into has a ground on it and the "ground lift" switch is not engaged because this CAN be dangerous.

also, check the condition of the cables on the amp to see if nothing is frayed and shorted out just to be on the safe side. usually instruments like the electric guitar carry a charge that can be felt if some part of your rig is not grounded properly, however, a constant shocking from your setup should not be happening as much such as in your case.
ako si mimordz. 友だちからよろしくです!

Offline stratman1

• Philmusicus Addictus
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2006, 02:07:00 PM »